1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

lightning

Discussion in 'Electronic Projects Design/Ideas/Reviews' started by scottyish, Oct 26, 2002.

  1. scottyish

    scottyish New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    Likes:
    0
    :?: Need help designing a circuit to create lightning effects, preferably with flourescent lights for Halloween. Thanks.
     
  2. kinjalgp

    kinjalgp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    INDIA/USA
    What kind of effect do you want? Sequential or random?
    If you want sequential effect the simplest method is to use Decade counter IC 4017. The IC has 10 outputs which shift one by one when a clock signal is fed to it. Use 555 IC in astable mode (low frequency) to generate clock for 4017 . The output of 4017 can be used to drive triacs with the help of small signal transistors like BC547. The lamp loads should be connected to triacs.
    For Random effect you can use a simple microcontroller. But you got to know the programming of it before using it.

    Kinjal
     
  3. star882

    star882 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    Likes:
    0
    Try a strobe for the flash.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Mikkel

    Mikkel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Norway

    How do you the drive triacs with the help of small signal transistors?
     
  6. kinjalgp

    kinjalgp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    INDIA/USA
    This way:
    [​IMG]
     
  7. kinjalgp

    kinjalgp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    INDIA/USA
    This way: The value of R1 is 1k
    [​IMG]
     
  8. mechie

    mechie New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, England
    Caution

    I don't mean to nit-pick but just in case anyone isn't aware ...
    The driver circuit above will cause your whole circuit to be potentially LIVE ! - the mains is connected to your logic circuit ground rail so be careful. Make this the mains Neutral (for those lucky enough to have a neutral ?) but NEVER assume it to be a safe voltage !.
     
  9. kinjalgp

    kinjalgp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    INDIA/USA
    I have tried it with both ways i.e. neutral and live but in both cases circuit is dangerous to touch sp beware :twisted:
     
  10. Phasor

    Phasor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    703
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Just a thought - You could use an optoisolated triac driver if you want to separate the logic and the load.
     
  11. kinjalgp

    kinjalgp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    INDIA/USA
    Yes even thats a better and safe option. :idea:
     
  12. Mikkel

    Mikkel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Thanks for the circuit, Kinjalgp

    I wanted this circuit because i couldn't get triac optoisolators
     

Share This Page