Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

IRFU9020, How fast?

Status
Not open for further replies.

slopagafud

How fast can a IRFU9020 be switched? Im looking to get a 9v,30khz pulse.

Yes, look at the datasheet, it will tell you how long it takes for the MOSFET to turn on and off.

Hero999 said:
Yes, look at the datasheet, it will tell you how long it takes for the MOSFET to turn on and off.

Im not so good at reading the datasheets yet, Im pretty new to all this. Im sure they look more intimidating than they really are, but I start going crosseyed before I figure anything out.

Nigel Goodwin said:
30KHz isn't really particularly fast, but you may have to take precautions to switch an FET that quick.

Precautions? Please explain.

Ps. thank you I2R I will read that when I have a little more time.

slopagafud said:
Precautions? Please explain.

FET's aren't as wonderful as people seem to think, to switch them fast you have to inject considerable current in the gate - to charge and discharge the gate capacitance. If you don't, it will switch slowly, get hot, and die!.

However at 30kHz it shouldn't be a problem, an astable 555 timer is all you nead.

Hero999 said:
However at 30kHz it shouldn't be a problem, an astable 555 timer is all you nead.

Im using a PicAxe 08M, instead of the 555. Im just playing around with different configurations, trying to learn the how, what, and why of different components.

The IRFU9020 is not a logic level MOSFET.