1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

inverter killed my guitar looper pedal

Discussion in 'Repairing Electronics' started by blue-moves, Apr 1, 2017.

  1. blue-moves

    blue-moves New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    I plugged my Digitech JamMan Stereo (9v guitar FX pedal) into an inverter (12v system in campervan) and it worked for about 15 seconds and now it's DEAD!!

    2 questions: What have I done to it?, and, How do I fix it?

    (my mate says it's because it's NOT a PURE sine wave inverter...?)
     
  2. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,254
    Likes:
    1,218
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    Welcome to ETO.
    Can you provide a link to the inverter spec?
     
  3. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,163
    Likes:
    909
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    ONLINE
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. blue-moves

    blue-moves New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0

    i'll have to check the inverter for make model etc. - not near campervan until tomorrow..

    my mate reckons he's had a whole string of power supplies and units 'fried' until someone told him to get a 'pure' sinewave inverter (much more expensive than the regular 'modified' sinewave inverters)

    i just thought that someone on here could tell me what component is most likely to have failed in my guitar pedal (ie. what does a "M.S.I." send to a device that a "P.S.I." doesn't?) - I have of course ascertained that the pedal is fried and not just the power supply. (checked it with a known working power supply).
     
  6. Les Jones

    Les Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes:
    187
    Location:
    Lancashire UK
    From the link Ian provided it looks like it uses a plug in power supply. I think it will be this that has failed. I think a switch mode power supply would be OK working from an inverter but an older type with a normal 50/60 Hz transformer may not like the waveform. I suspect thet the core would saturate, get hot and the thermal fuse would open.

    Les.
     
  7. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,163
    Likes:
    909
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    ONLINE
    I agree.. But a switched mode 9vac might be hard to find.. I think a new transformer with 9vac out will fix the problem... Plenty on Ebay..
     
  8. Les Jones

    Les Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes:
    187
    Location:
    Lancashire UK
    Hi Ian,
    I had not spotted that it was AC output.

    Les.
     

Share This Page