Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I'm exhausted, and a newb...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all, hope someone can point me in the right direction with the circuit i've built. I'm not an electronics engineer or anything, dabbled in a couple of cicuits and stuff over my lifetime, mucked about with Dick smiths beer powered radio's and stuff like that.. this is the first cicuit of any complexity (to me at least) that I've designed.

I basically do a lot of car racing simulator component building as a hobby, and until now, interfacing with already made joysticks and USB devices has been pretty easy as I just take them apart and wire in remote switches to the circuit boards to perform what I need to do (ie. make a pseudo gearbox out of wood and stuff, and have 6 microswitches at each gear gate, which close the circuit on each corresponding button on the joypad)... you get the idea I'm sure.

Now, I bought this premade gearshifter for sim racing the other day, and its really old, and features some weird cartidge system and a DIN plug of sorts. I dont have anything to plug that specific DIN plug into my pc, and need it to be USB.

The shifter works in the following way:

1 2 3
|_|_|
| | |
4 5 6
(it has gears 7 and 8, but I blanked those off cos its rubbish)

The shifter shaft works exactly like a cars one does.
Now, see my post here: **broken link removed**

Something important to note is that when in neutral, obviously none of the microswitches in the shifter are closed...