Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

I am almost there! Please help!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

inkedallusion

I have been searching for the cheapest, easiest design to build a power supply. I am pretty new to this, but I found a design using an l200 voltage regulator that would work great. I iam not sure what sort of power output I need though. The load will be two eight or ten wrap coils with 24 gauge wire, and a 1 uF cap in paralell with them. How do I know what the load will not to run correctly? I am thinking I need about 2A, 15 volts or so. I don't think I really need adjustable voltage, just the current adjustment.
Here is the link I am looking at for the idea- **broken link removed**

One other thing. I have seen a power supply like what I am trying to build and all it was was an unregulated supply using two 1000 uF caps after the bridge rectifier with a filter choke in paralell. This went to a power rheostat to limit the current. I want to improve the design, PLEASE HELP!!!!! I want to thank all the people who have been answering my questions, I have learned a lot. Thank you!

hi

hi
jus out of curiosity ,y do u need two amps at the outout,r u trying to drive a solenoid as a load(coils),could u elaborate on the load u r to encounter in the ckt.
u have mentioned at the start u r looking for a simple design .y do u need two amps.is it a must?????.
don't know whether u r a beginner or have done a bit in electronics.