Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Hydro powered mini saw

Status
Not open for further replies.

SexySmart

Hi, I’m extremely new to this world of electronics and mechanical systems. But, I still would like to go more green so I’m testing the waters here. Speaking of water I have this idea of basically a miniature hydro powered saw and would like to know if its practical or even possible. The saw itself would be about 3 inches in diameter and strong enough to cut through an apple (not wood or anything). I was inspired by watching a youtube video where I saw this scientist make a mini wind turbine that could power a cell phone. So my thoughts are to replace the wind with a flow of water and replace the cell phone with a lithium battery to power the saw. Ok, so this might be a completely stupid question for you all but is it possible to have water turning the motor to generate power to charge the battery that powers the saw all while getting wet? LOL! Or is this just completely wrong? Any thoughts? Thanks!

What the intended application of an apple saw, making apple sauce?

John

I was using the apple as an example of something semi soft to cut but yes kind of like a smoothie maker triggered by running liquid. The saw doesn't need to be powerful enough to cut wood. Everything has to be small which limits it's power correct? Everything has to fit within the 3 diameters.

Last edited: