Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

how do I do this equation

Status
Not open for further replies.

north

forgive me for I'm sure this is an easy mathematical question but I'm just starting out in a course called ELECTRO-Mechanical Technician. I just did an exam, my first in this course, but a question has been bugging me.

the question was 4.91x10^12 electrons are taken out of the flow and then to transfer this into nano. the answer is 787nC.( if I recall accurately).( it is right by the way,787nC, I have the results, but not the specific question, I'm just going by memory)

this what I thought I should do. since 1 C is 6.24x10^18 electrons. I should subtract 4.91x10^12 from 1C , but in order to do so I have to make the exponents the same> so 4.91x10^12 becomes 4,910,000x10^18 - 6.24x10^18 which does not give the above answer.

WHAT I"M I DOING WRONG!!

Last edited:
okay I tried dividing, my only other option, 4.91x10^12 by 6.24x10^18 and I get 7.868589744^29 which is on the right track, but why would I assume that the answer is already in nano's.

I don't get it. since nano's is 10^9 why wouldn't I say the answer is 7.87x10^20?

there's something I'm not quite getting here.

(by the way people I've done the exam already, just in case some may think I'm cheating. cheating in the end only cheats one self)

Last edited:
Please rephrase this more clearly: