1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

How do Cable Tone Generator/Tracers work?

Discussion in 'Electronic Projects Design/Ideas/Reviews' started by johankj, Nov 13, 2007.

  1. Super_voip

    Super_voip New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    340
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    How's your Cat7 going, 100G must be fun.
     
  2. johankj

    johankj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Now that you point that out, I read EPE too, EPE are more liberal with their code. BTW, EPE has started, with the December issue, a "PIC Teach-In", which will go on for 2008... :D
     
  3. johankj

    johankj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    I tend to avoid CAT6/7, because they are stiffer (harder to handle), and the connectors for CAT5 are so much easier/quicker to do. 100G?
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. CheapSlider

    CheapSlider Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK

    Being the first is not always the best: The Incompetent Adoption of DAB in the UK

    After the UK adopted the DAB standard the rest of Europe decided to use DAB+. The French are thinking about using T-DMB

    The other digital radio option is DRM. This has been designed for use with narrowband AM (LW,MW,SW). DAB is for Band I and above (L-
    Band is used in Europe). DRM at frequencies above 30MHz is being investigated.



    We in the UK continue with our record:
    405 line TV
    625 TV 6MHz sound carrier (rest of Europe 5.5MHz)
    The UK diid get it right with PAL colour Television (There was a lobby proposing 405 line NTSC. France went SECAM)
     
  6. johankj

    johankj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Hehehe... I mention:
    • Left-hand-side driving.
    • Miles, pounds, stones, gallons, feet, etc...
    • UK-Mains plugs
    • No Euro
    You have always gone your own way.
    But you did do the hover-craft, the colossus, the radar, the steam engine, the spinning machine, and so on... I wouldn't say you're in the back-water technology wise, you just seem to pick the oddest adoptions and standards. BTW, please vote no MS-OOXML!!
     
  7. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,213
    Likes:
    640
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    You need to put this into perspective!.

    You seem to ignoring that the UK had the worlds first TV service, obviously it was likely to be the lowest spec one.

    What was (is) wrong with that?, we adopted a superior 625 line TV system, with greater video bandwidth. The rest of Europe adopted a crippled system because they used VHF, the UK used UHF so could use greater channel spacing.

    Yes, we got it right with PAL - except it was German of course, and not British! :D

    But DAB was (and is) a disaster - a technological step backwards for no good reason?.
     
  8. Super_voip

    Super_voip New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    340
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Radar, when did they invent that, the Germans had been playing with radar for 30 years before the british. The French also happened to find out all about radar before the british. Ahh yes Logie TV, how many vertical lines? Winners write the history.
     
  9. Super_voip

    Super_voip New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    340
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Cat3 10Mb
    Cat5 100Mb
    Cat5e 350Mb
    Cat6 1Gb
    Cat6e 10Gb
    Cat7 100Gb

    Roughly
     
  10. Super_voip

    Super_voip New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    340
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I found some Baird TV, I think they found some original recordings, as the signal was very narrow band it could be recorded onto wax disks(records)http://youtube.com/watch?v=HIjlzyn_2H8
     
  11. johankj

    johankj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    That is correct for some of the IEEE 802 standards, but CAT refers to category of cable, not it bandwidth.
     
  12. Super_voip

    Super_voip New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    340
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I've only just encountered some ads from Krone for their Cat7 products.
    I get 1Gb over Cat5e, on short runs.
     
  13. johankj

    johankj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    In principle, that is not a problem. If you are in a relatively low-noise environment, CAT5e has a bandwidth of roughly up to 100MHz, but is degraded very quickly over distance. For a home network, where cables are of max length 10m, there is no issue using CAT5e for GB networking.
     
  14. manoharfisher

    manoharfisher New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    circuit tracer

    can u give me the circuit ciscription of a cable or wire tracer.
     
  15. johankj

    johankj New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    I can probably make you a Tone Generator circuit, but I'm not skilled enough to design you a Inductive Probe circuit.

    I belive, in essence, that it works just like a radio. You modulate the tone generators frequency so that it's within the tuned spectrum of the inductive probe.
     

Share This Page