Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

help with simple led circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

dimdiode

Hi everyone

I'm a complete novice with electronics and i'm in need of your help (obsequious bowing)

I need to build a simple low power 12v dc led circuit such that when power is first applied the diode lights up for 3 to 4 seconds then switches off. It only comes on again when the power is disconnected then re-connected.

Hope someone can come the rescue :)

Thanks so much 4pyros but does this solution mean there is always a 9v connection? With my problem there is not always a current. I want the led to come on when there is a current but only for 3 to 4 seconds.

A 555 timer configured as monostable circuit as proposed by 4pyros will do what you need.
The on-time of the LED will be dependent on the value of R1 and C1.
Time on = 1.1 R1 * C1

I advice you read the brief discussion on the link 4pyros posted.
And when you get answers from your thread, try to pick up some terms like "555 monostable" and google. Try to research.
Then, ask clarifications on things you don't understand.

Yes it will work. You can hook up your load before or after the power switch.
Most 555 monostable circuits you will find will have a separate trigger input.
This was the best representation I could find within a few minutes looking on the web of one that would come on at power up.