1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

help with LCD module

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers' started by dsdsds, Jun 23, 2003.

  1. dsdsds

    dsdsds New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes:
    0
    All right I am desperate now! I’m trying to run an OPTREX DMC-50244 LCD module (Hitatchi 44780 compatible) LCD module. I’ve hooked it up to a programmed pic 16F84A and it simply just won’t work. It won’t even display a cursor. I’ve read the manual (several times) and my code is based on examples from the net. I’ve checked my program a dozen times and it seams to be working properly. I followed the initialization procedure very carefully and put sufficient delays. I have no emulator so I used some LEDs to track.
    I also checked the circuit. Im not sure about one thing: The 14-pin pinout for the optrex is not a 1x 14 row. It is 2 x 7 row labeled like this:

    13 14
    o o
    o o
    o o
    o o
    o o
    o o
    o o
    1 2

    Now, my question is how are they numberd ? I think it is like this:

    ...etc
    5 6
    3 4
    1 2

    or, is it actually:

    ....etc
    5 6
    4 3
    1 2

    Also, Is there any way to test the module without hooking it up to a mcu?
    Should I get at least a cursor by just powering it up?
     
  2. Chippie

    Chippie New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    991
    Likes:
    9
    Location:
    Good 'ole England
    Do you have a supply connected to the Contrast pin ?
     
  3. TheAnimus

    TheAnimus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    116
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    England
    all the HD44780 compatable LCDs i have used, once u have powered up, and set the contrast level (normaly the PD between GND and Vcc)

    if u just let all the other pins be low from power on (start condition) and slowly adjust the contrast potentiomitor, until u have a row of black rectangles, all the "locations" might not be black, the contrast is the same accross the whole LCD don't worry!
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. dsdsds

    dsdsds New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes:
    0

    IT WAS THE CONTRAST PIN!!! WHOOOOHOOO!! I just had to adjust the 10k pot.

    Great!!

    Thanks a million guys!!
     

Share This Page