Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with Automotive Project Please.

Status
Not open for further replies.

soundcatcher

I'm working on a project that is pushing my knowledge to it's limits. I'm totally self taught and I pick up knowledge as I encounter stuff that I don't' understand or tackle new challenges. On this occasion I've come a bit un-stuck. :(

I'ts good old auto-electrics this time that has me tearing what little hair I have left out! I have a custom car that has solenoid doors. I decided that I wanted something a little bit different so I have decided to use a Capacitance Switch to trigger the doors to open, rather than use a pushbutton or remote control. This switch works fine by iteself but when you trigger an unrelated device like the electric windows, a spike gets sent back up the powerline and triggers the door switch and they then get stuck in a loop and go crazy! Not great if you're driving down the road and need to adjust your window and the doors open! :eek:

So after a bit of searching I think I have 1 solution... Unless you guys can think of a better one. I'm thinking about using a transient voltage suppressor across the sensor circuit to hopefully stop the unwanted triggering from happening.

So far so good but at this point I don't know which one to choose and I don't know how to work out or where to measure to find the parameters that will narrow down the choices?