1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

help understanding amplifier schematic

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by whiz115, Nov 9, 2008.

  1. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,235
    Likes:
    641
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    As expected - damping controls the movement of the cone - at high frequencies the cone hardly moves.
     
  2. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,450
    Likes:
    937
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    Tweeters also have a resonance that affects the sound. Good damping from the (solid state) amplifier controls the tweerer so you don't hear the resonance.
     
  3. whiz115

    whiz115 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    742
    Likes:
    2
    Location:
    DotGR
    the results are excellent! i'm very pleased! :)

    i'm wondering if i could connect the screen grid directly to the (+) of
    the psu and then decouple it with a 10-22uF capacitor.

    P.S i decided to use DIN connectors as once used to be, but unfortunately i couldn't find speaker DIN, only the 5 pole ones! so i'm going to use them for input and for output, i'll post photos soon.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,235
    Likes:
    641
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK

    No, you need a resistor as well in order to decouple the screen.
     
  6. whiz115

    whiz115 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    742
    Likes:
    2
    Location:
    DotGR
    so... should i use two 1K resistors in series placing the capacitor in the middle of them?
     
  7. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,235
    Likes:
    641
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    No, just one resistor and the capacitor from screen down to chassis.
     

Share This Page