1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Help required to program a PIC

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers' started by ERGOYE, Aug 31, 2017.

  1. ERGOYE

    ERGOYE New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes:
    0
    Hi guys good morning, i am new for this forum, I need your help on programming PIC16F84 M.C. i have no idea to program it. I was trying to build one of EPEmag project which is called "MOODPICKER" there in the project i found this pre-programmed microcontroller ....i search for source code in the EPE website i found one file but i am not sure wether it is the right thing or not to program the PIC.....please can you help me...to program it? I can send you all the information what you need. Thank you for your time and patience
     
  2. Jon Wilder

    Jon Wilder Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    859
    Likes:
    82
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
  3. ERGOYE

    ERGOYE New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes:
    0
    ftp://ftp.epemag.wimborne.co.uk/pub/PICS/moodPICker/mindpic.asm
    This is additional information for who would like to reply to me.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. ERGOYE

    ERGOYE New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes:
    0

    I bought already
     
  6. ERGOYE

    ERGOYE New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes:
    0
    ftp://ftp.epemag.wimborne.co.uk/pub/PICS/moodPICker/moodpicker.txt
     
  7. ERGOYE

    ERGOYE New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes:
    0
    ftp://ftp.epemag.wimborne.co.uk/pub/PICS/moodPICker/mindpic.obj
     
  8. Jon Wilder

    Jon Wilder Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    859
    Likes:
    82
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Oh you meant you need someone to assist you in how to write code for one?
     
  9. Les Jones

    Les Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes:
    187
    Location:
    Lancashire UK
    Your link in post #3 is the source code. (The .asm file is a source code file.) If you do a search for "EPE TK3 programmer " or "EPE PK3 programmer" I think you will find a link to an assembler that will assemble the source file from post #3. It is not to difficult to modify the .asm file so that it can be assembled with MPASM (Microchip assembler)

    Les.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5,886
    Likes:
    500
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    Since the code is in Assembly and you are apparently new at this, I suggest going going here and downloading MPLab IDE 8.92 that is appropriate for your PC: http://www.microchip.com/development-tools/downloads-archive

    You will also need a 32.768 kHz crystal for that chip. If you can change to the almost identical 16F628A chip, it has internal oscillators. But you will need to change the code slightly to use them. We can help you do that.

    John
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. Jon Wilder

    Jon Wilder Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    859
    Likes:
    82
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    MPLAB X has gotten substantially better. I boycotted it too in favor of MPLAB 8 because X was just not usable for me the first couple of years. But I highly recommend the latest version of MPLAB X instead.

    http://www.microchip.com/mplab/mplab-x-ide
     
  12. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5,886
    Likes:
    500
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    When our fearless leader (Ian Rogers) switches, so will I.;)

    More seriously, I have considered trying MPLAB X a few times recently, if only for the newer chips and fewer hangups. The thinking behind my comment was that for someone quite new, 8.92 is pretty darn intuitive. Albeit, that opinion is based only on my experience with X shortly after it came out.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,145
    Likes:
    907
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    I am reviewing MPLBX 4 as we speak.... BUT!! It's the multi project thing that still gives a headache... When two + projects are open the interface still confuses the linker where relevant files are.... If used with one project at a time, then it's quite stable. But! I have a bit more testing to do...

    Fearless leader!!! LOL Miles off the mark...
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  14. nigel wright

    nigel wright New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes:
    1
    You can pick up cheap Chinese PICKIT3 clones on ebay.
    I paid £20 for one with a ZIF multiple socket interface.
     
  15. Colin

    Colin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    368
    Likes:
    21
    Location:
    Australia
    You can pick up cheap Chinese PICKIT3 clones on ebay.
    I paid £20 for one with a ZIF multiple socket interface.


    They are as low as $12.00 USD post free but no socket to "burn" the chip.
     
  16. nigel wright

    nigel wright New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes:
    1
  17. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5,886
    Likes:
    500
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    Apparently, TS already has a PK3 (or clone), see post #4.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  18. Colin

    Colin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    368
    Likes:
    21
    Location:
    Australia
    You need this

    Top-noChip.jpg
     
  19. BobW

    BobW Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    501
    Likes:
    52
    Location:
    Canada
    I'd double check the connections to that burner board before programming a PIC with it. There are at least two different common pin arrangements for power supply, clock, and data lines.
     
  20. nigel wright

    nigel wright New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes:
    1
    I always add a 6 way molex connector on my pcb for programming the PIC.
    Saves removing and inserting the PCI each time.
     
  21. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5,886
    Likes:
    500
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    Re: Burner boards
    1) Only a 5-pin connector is needed for ICSP; although, the Microchip factory connector is 6 pin. I blank off the socket and use a 6-pin header. The helps ensure proper orientation when the room or my eyes are dim. As time progresses, that connector is getting disproportionately large compared to everything else on the board.
    2) Microchip recommends against any passive devices in the bidirectional clock or data lines to the programmer. It typically recommends resistors for isolation from the rest of the circuit when those pins are used for other things. See: http://microchipdeveloper.com/dtda:icsp-considerations. Colin's adapter has LED's labeled clock and data. How are they connected?
    3) I prefer a ZIF socket on my "burner boards" when I am not doing ICSP. As BobW points out, there are several different configurations needed. The particular boards I use allow changes to the configuration by jumpers (www.j1sys.com).

    John
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2017

Share This Page