Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

HDTV modification and repair help needed...

Status
Not open for further replies.

IjabaFilms

Hi,

I'm a filmmaker working on a project where I'm trying to build my own production monitor large enough and with a high enough resolution for focus pulling. Sure they sell production monitors but they are a gazillion dollars for the guerrilla filmmaker such as myself. :)

Anyway, I went on eBay and bought a 15" HDTV that just has a bad inverter. The TV only cost about $30 total. :) So I get it and turn it on and the TV comes on and stays on for about 5 minutes then the screen gets black. I shine a light on it and I can see the TV is still on and working. So yes, we have a problem with supplying power to the CCFLs.

With this particular TV (I bought some others but they are easy fixes), I opened it up and saw that it has a PSU board that connects to the mainboard (the other TVs I bought had a DC jack right on the main board so all one has to do is replace the inverter which is a separate unit). This TV has the inverter right on the PSU.

From what I understand of this situation, the portion of the PSU supplying power to the TV is fine but the area designated to run the CCFLs has a problem. I'm thinking of two things here...