Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Good Computer Programming Book

Status
Not open for further replies.

ThermalRunaway

I have some experience in programming microcontrollers using assembly and C, but now I'm looking into the possibility of learning to program small applications under Windows and to that end I've started searching for some decent books on the subject.

I would prefer to stay with C as the language although I would be willing to consider other languages as well. I was wondering whether anyone could recommend some good books on the subject as I've not yet been able to find a book that teaches the sorts of things I'm hoping to learn. The book needs to teach C, as well as teach the art of programming under Windows. For example, I'm going to want to learn how to program a GUI application with buttons, text boxes, menus etc. I'm also going to want to learn how to communicate with a computer's peripherals such as USB port, parallel port etc in order that I can control or obtain information from (or send information to) electronic projects that I interface to the computer.

I've seen quite a few books advertised that teach C programming, but I'm not sure whether these types of books would teach me Windows specific programming?

Advice appreciated.

Brian

ThermalRunaway said:
I'm going to want to learn how to program a GUI application with buttons, text boxes, menus etc.