1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Function Generators with High Output Voltage

Discussion in 'High Voltage' started by lusebass, Nov 1, 2017.

  1. lusebass

    lusebass New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    0
    Hi there! I'm looking for some function generators which supply high output voltage (kV if possible). This is for a research so I only need 3 different brands. Of course they cannot be obsolote. They would be used for testing breakdown voltage and faults on components and electronic equipment.

    Common signal generator's output voltage is 20 Vpp. Some supply a little more (30 Vpp for example but this voltage is not useful for what I need to do).

    I only could find this one (on this forum):

    http://trekinc.com/products/615A1.asp

    Another option could be using a high output voltage amplifier for each function generator. Hope you can help me. I'll keep on searching anyway. Thanks!
     
  2. JimB

    JimB Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    6,353
    Likes:
    586
    Location:
    Peterhead, Scotland
    ONLINE
    Why do you need three different types of generator?
    JimB
     
  3. lusebass

    lusebass New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    0
    Because I have to make a comparison and choose the one which is best.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. ronsimpson

    ronsimpson Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,304
    Likes:
    969
    Location:
    Loveland, CO USA

    There are "0" brands!
    You can get a amplifier that goes on the output of a generator.

    What frequency?
    Sign wave? Square?
    What voltage 1kv?

    The last person to ask this question here wanted many kV and mhz and many amps. Maybe you can get Kv OR mhz OR amps but not at the same time.
     
  6. lusebass

    lusebass New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    0
    What frequency? I'm not looking for an specific frequency range. If it's a wide range, better.
    Sign wave? Square? Sign wave, square, triangle, sawtooth and that's enough.
    What voltage 1kv? Not specified. Enough to use it as breakdown voltage.

    I found this recently ( amplifier ):

    http://flcelectronics.com/pdf/A800DI.pdf

    But price is not showed there.
     
  7. ronsimpson

    ronsimpson Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,304
    Likes:
    969
    Location:
    Loveland, CO USA
    There you go. Good find. Now you can use almost any "Common signal generator". You need 10 to 15 volts out to drive the amp.
    A 100khz sine wave will look like a sine/triangle wave.
    speed problems:
    The output can only move up/down at a maximum of 300V/uS so a square wave can turn into a triangle.
    The output can not pass anything faster than 200khz so any wave can turn into a sine wave.
    The output can only put 60mA so if you are driving any capacitance the output will be slow. No 50 ohm load.

    This amp is a good audio amp (not driving a 8 ohm speaker) but you will not get "RF" out of it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2017
  8. OBW0549

    OBW0549 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    97
    Likes:
    26
    Location:
    Southeast PA, USA
    I don't know that I'd trust that thing: at one point the document states, "Any function or arbitrary waveform generator with low output impedance and output voltage up to ±10 V can be used as an input device." Yet just a few paragraphs later it cautions, "The amplitude of the input signal should normally be kept within ±4 V." On the following page it again says, in bright red print, "Keep input signals within ±4 V range" and in the diagram on the page after that, the input is shown with a label saying "±4 V."

    Is the ±10 V a misprint? Or the ±4 V? One or the other must be wrong. And if the maximum input is ±4 V, and the amplifier gain is 100, ±400 V is all you're going to get out of this thing.
     
  9. JimB

    JimB Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    6,353
    Likes:
    586
    Location:
    Peterhead, Scotland
    ONLINE
    Just to be pedantic and frivolous...

    Sine wave - a squiggly mathematical electrical thing.

    Signwave - a company who make signs - https://www.signwaves.co.uk/

    JimB
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. ronsimpson

    ronsimpson Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,304
    Likes:
    969
    Location:
    Loveland, CO USA
    "800 Vpp" is 8v Vpp input or +/-4V.[/quote]
     
  11. Pommie

    Pommie Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    10,080
    Likes:
    326
    Location:
    Brisbane Australia
    How can they state an output voltage of 1600Vpp when it clearly can't manage that? I can see that 4Vpp can become 400Vpp and 800Vpp with the phase inverter but how can 1600Vpp be achieved.
    Did I miss something?

    Mike.
     
  12. KeepItSimpleStupid

    KeepItSimpleStupid Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,934
    Likes:
    1,099
    I know you asked about function generators, but you did not really give anything to go on. For measurements check out Tektronix/Keithley and Agilent SMU's (Source Measure Units) I think some can have programs downloaded to them. They are not function generators.
     

Share This Page