Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Expert analysis welcomed on my Audio amplifier circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

normanneil01

Hi everyone, I'm fairly new to electronics and have built a amplifier circuit with tone control and VU led meter.

IC1 is a LM741 op amp, IC2 a LM386 power amp and IC3 a LM3915 dot/bar display chip.

I combined the LM386 with the LM3915 and added the tone control circuit from a common circuit found all over the internet. I have built the prototype and everything seems to work fine. I get distortin at high levels but I think that might just be the poor performance of the 386 rather than any build problems. As far as 'testing' goes I'm a total amateur so don't know what I should be trying to work out. I know that the gain of the amplifier is 20 but I don't know the impact the 741 circuit will/should have on that.

Any expert help and/or advice would be great.

I have attached the circuit diagram.

Attachments

• Circuit picture.jpg
    Circuit picture.jpg
    131.9 KB · Views: 456
The 741 is an old part. There are better "audio" parts. There will be comment from Canada in a little bit about the LM741.

The LM3915 is driven directly by the power amp. (through C11) I need to look at the data sheet. I don't think it is save to drive it to -4 volts like you are doing. We need to think on that a little.

there is a couple of mistakes on component values that I didn't change. C2 - 47nF, C3 - 22nF, C4+C5 - 4.7nF and R11 - 4.7k