Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Equipment for Hobbyists

Status
Not open for further replies.

hugoender

I just entered the field of electronic circuit hobbyist. I am an Electrical Engineering Graduate and am looking to start purchasing my own equipment (tired of using the equipment at work/school).

I am a college student, however, I do have family members that would be willing to buy me some pricey components (graduation presents). By pricey i do not mean $1000+... instead i mean <$300 :eek: This should give you an idea of my budget. I know in electronics you get what you pay for but hey, this is the budget I have to work with.

I need a power supply, soldering iron (and station), DMM, oscilloscope, maybe function generator.

Now my questions are the following:
1. For a hobbyist (so far I am only making simple circuits such as LM386 audio amplfiier, FM transmitter, IR alarm, etc.), do I need all the equipment I listed above or do I not need all of that or do I need more? I already have the small stuff like breadboard, perfboards, wires, etc.

2. Which make and model of each of those components would you recommend (they need to be good since I will probably be doing this for the rest of my life, but not extremely expensive since I am still a college student)?