Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Energy generation through weight machines w/ compressed air

Status
Not open for further replies.

nikwan

Hello! My name is Nick and I am an industrial engineering student at Cal Poly SLO and had an idea for my senior project. This is my first post so I was just looking for some feedback..

Here it goes...Pretty much, instead of using weights as resistance, a person would set the dial of an air canister and the person would push that air. (Hydraulic resistance machines) Air would be compressed in canisters with pneumatic cylinders from the force of the user, and that electrical energy would somehow be converted into electrical energy.

One possible and seemingly terribly inefficient way of doing so would be to send this pressurized air into a small cylinder, increasing the speed, rotating some type of blades on a fan...

Another huge issue is how would the compressed air be recycled? Using a compressor would defeat the purpose I guess ha.

Let me know what you guys think! Thanks!

My best suggestion would be to have a day off, do something completely different, nothing to do with engineering, alcohol or other chemical substances which may or may not be illegal in your area.

Then, re-read your post, see if you can understand it, even better, consider if someone else could understand it.

Then perhaps re-write it.

JimB

Nicely said jimB.