Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

electrical engineer student, needs help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

pbandj

Hello I'm a electrical engineer student at my local community college. The class I'm in right now is introduction to DC circuit. Well not to sound completely ignorant but I have no clue whats going on in the class. The teacher is one of those reads out of the books no questions asked teacher. So he's utterly useless. Anyway I was wondering if someone here could help me.

Here's my questions and confusions:

First thing I'm having issues with is resistors. On the homework he gives us the colors and I have to figure out the value. Not to complicated until I got to this one. Orange, White, Yellow. Orange is 3 white is 9 and yellow is 4 so that means its 390000 ohms so how would you write that 3.9K ohms or 390k ohms?

Another issue I'm having is computing the potential difference between two points. On the HW he has a resistor point a on one end and point b on the other end. Point A is 35V and point B is 15V my only question is do you add them to figure out potential difference? Or is there something else you have to do?

This might be hard to explain without showing you so I'm going to quote the exact question word for word. “Write in scientific notation the charge carried by 100 electrons.” I honestly don't know where to begin with that.

Thanks for the help.