Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Electric components to toggle DC motor polarity

Status
Not open for further replies.

dcwatson84

First off - this project is all about automation, so im looking to have it run with no manual intervention except for initial setup, and im pretty new to working with electrical relays.

I have a DC motor that triggers it's own mechanical switch to reverse it's direction. I have an electronic timer that feeds 12v to the DC motor. The motor has mechanical components which trigger the polarity reversal at upper/lower limits of operation, but these components were very low quality and are starting to malfunction. I have a project in mind to fix this but have a few questions which I haven't been able to answer on my own....
  1. Due to the consistent nature of the operation, I think I can scrap the mechanical upper/lower triggers and simply use the timer to control how often & how long the motor operates, given that the speed of the motor is consistent. Reasonable?
  2. If so, I'll need a device between the timer and the motor which swaps the polarity somehow, correct?
  3. I've seen these devices, but they are manual switches. Is there a latch/relay that I can use to swap the polarity, the only input to which is a single current path? Note - the difficult part of this seems to be that the *same* current, the next time around, also needs to swap the polarity again. A polarity toggle.