Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Eagle traces and pads not that smooth

Status
Not open for further replies.

mradel1984

Hi There

I'm new to eagle and I am using Eagle Ver 5.6.0

When I try to save my layout into pdf format using the print command I found some artifacts like those shown in the next test layout picture taken from the pdf file

View attachment 63230

I have not used 5.6.0.
The problem may be in the PDF. Is there a higher resolution option? If you converted to PDF at 150dpi it will look bad. Try 1200dpi.

I have not used 5.6.0.
The problem may be in the PDF. Is there a higher resolution option? If you converted to PDF at 150dpi it will look bad. Try 1200dpi.

Hi ronsimpson ,

I don't see any resolution or quality options in the pdf create dialog, just paper size A4,A5,.. and other non-important options
btw , could you tell me your version number , and whether it produces smooth traces or not ?

Thanks in Advance

The output resolution depends on what I print to. If I make a gerber file and view it things look good. If I look at a paper plot is is only good to what the printer will do. Eagle crashes on this machine so I will look at it in a different machine in the morning.

I always thought that eagle exports to pdf in vector graphics and not in raster, so there should be no artifacts whatsoever.
What do you see when you zoom way in?

Last edited:
None of the Eagle versions, up to 6.1 export pdf so far as I know. My versions export png, some bitmaps, and tif.

John