1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Eagle PCB Joints

Discussion in 'Circuit Simulation & PCB Design' started by Suraj143, Jul 8, 2017.

  1. Suraj143

    Suraj143 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes:
    2
    Location:
    South Mald Isld
    I need my 90'degree joints to be filled like a triangle as in the 2nd image.
    When I use polygon tool + Ratnest its endup like the 1st image.

    I need nice joints.How to do that?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5,886
    Likes:
    500
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    ONLINE
    You have to name the polygon the same as the net it is attached to. If you can post the Eagle file (as a zip), I will show you.

    While I prefer polygons for a lot of things, there are other ways to get almost the same effect without using a polygon.

    John
     
  3. ronsimpson

    ronsimpson Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,252
    Likes:
    961
    Location:
    Loveland, CO USA
    Type in the window "polygon $n22" then draw the polygon.
    Assuming the trace is names $n22.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)

    I'd use teardrops.ulp to automatically generate teardrops at trace-pad connections and trace-trace connections.
     
  6. mvs sarma

    mvs sarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,512
    Likes:
    76
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India.
    Suraj,
    I used to place a small thick trace at 45 degrees on either side. but a direct triangle of course can be tried and saved as a pad for future use.
    regards
    sarma
    vu3zmv
     
  7. Suraj143

    Suraj143 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes:
    2
    Location:
    South Mald Isld
    Cool info guys it worked, Thanks.

    I have a problem.I start downloading the newer version of eagle.It has been goverened by a new company called AUTODESK.The never version I downloaded 8.2.2.

    It is very annoying & its very hard over previous cadsoft versions.Specially adding new libraries, UI icons etc...

    Please tell me will I do my work with my old CADSOFT versions or shift to Annoying AUTODESK version?

    Whats your Eagle versions?

    Thanks.
     
  8. mvs sarma

    mvs sarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,512
    Likes:
    76
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India.
    Nice that you installed autodesk and trying that too, Suraj.
    Mine was a crude eagle version 7.7.0 on win XP
    BTW, I admire the very fiurst reply.
    using polygon. As Ronsimpson rightly advised, The polygon itself would be named same as track #so that it merges wit it.
    Thanks entire team who worked on this and I have much to learn.
    regards
    sarma
    vu3zmv
     
  9. Mikebits

    Mikebits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,214
    Likes:
    174
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca
    Keep in mind, as you make a branch such as shown, you also make a discontinuity. Depending on the transition speed of signal on the trace, you may find excess ringing due to impedance mismatch. The added triangle however will add capacitance may work to your advantage as it will slow some of the higher speed components.
    If this is a clock signal, I would avoid the T-branch, and instead make a daisy chain connection. What I mean is > trace--------o--------o------- termination. where the o represents a load. instead of the t branch ----|----
     
  10. Suraj143

    Suraj143 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes:
    2
    Location:
    South Mald Isld
    Bad news.I still cant make T joints nicer.

    I did as you all mentioned.Changed the polygon name, but nothing happened.Eagle version is 7.6.0.

    Here how I did.

    1. Using Wire tool draw two wires to make a T joint.
    2. The default wires names are attached in the picture.
    3. Using polygon tool draw a triangle over the joint.
    4. Using the Name tool change the polygon name to “S$2”.
    5. Click Ratnest.
    6. Nothing happened the triangle still like earlier :(
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Suraj143

    Suraj143 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes:
    2
    Location:
    South Mald Isld
    I think I use my T joints using just a Wire tool.In this case renaming the polygons not working.

    Making a T joint using a Signal tool & Routing its working.
     
  12. Suraj143

    Suraj143 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes:
    2
    Location:
    South Mald Isld
    Hi all,

    I attached my PCB/Schematic design.I want to change the pad sizes of the components to 2mm. How to do that without going to each library & editing?

    The other problem is I get "invalid polygon on GND signal" when I try to place a npolygon near the LED T joint.It won't allows me to add a polygon.

    Really hard for me.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 11, 2017
  13. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5,886
    Likes:
    500
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    ONLINE
    Works for me:
    upload_2017-7-11_5-59-58.png


    The trace for which I did the triangle fill is 0.016". Sorry for such a large image.

    You must have a setting wrong.

    John
     
  14. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    Suraj143 Are you sure S$2 is the net name of the tracks in the T-junction?
     
  15. ronsimpson

    ronsimpson Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,252
    Likes:
    961
    Location:
    Loveland, CO USA
    $S2 ?
    $N2 ?
     

Share This Page