1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Eagle Cad Parts List

Discussion in 'Circuit Simulation & PCB Design' started by Mikebits, Jul 30, 2010.

  1. Mikebits

    Mikebits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,214
    Likes:
    174
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca
    I find the Eagle parts list export function to be very inadequate. 1 line for each part is silly. It does not match similar parts on 1 line like; C1-6 .01uf. Instead we get a 6 lines for the same .01uf part.
    Are there any utilities out there that assist Eagle into creating a more manageable looking PL?

    Thanks
     
  2. MRCecil

    MRCecil Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    301
    Likes:
    8
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    I don't use Eagle so I have no idea what format the file is in...text? What I have done in the past is take the parts list or bill of materials and imported it to Excel. After parsing into columns, I run several sorts to get all like components together in one group on the sheet. The final sort is by vendor's part number, which ensures that 10uf tantalums are not lumped with a 10uf electrolytics for example. Maybe this will help...or not.
     
  3. mvs sarma

    mvs sarma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,512
    Likes:
    76
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India.
    Perhaps CADSOFT has to take a cue from some one to change the format and design a consolidated list to simplify the issue.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Boncuk

    Boncuk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    5,382
    Likes:
    88
    Location:
    Phetchabun,Thailand

    Hi Mike,

    there is a difference between a part list and a BOM (Bill Of Material).

    A part list uses one line per component. If your circuit contains 100 resistors with the same value the part list will accurately name each part in one line.

    The BOM uses one line for the 100 resistors (may be two or three to name the parts).

    Here is a BOM example:

    After modification using windows word it looks like that:

    Regards

    Boncuk
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 31, 2010
  6. lilimike

    lilimike Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    Montreal Canada
    I have Eagle 5.7 and when I run the BOM.ULP I get one component per line and I did not find any other scripts for parts list.

    How did you get a listing with parts grouped together on one line?

    Mike
     
  7. Mikebits

    Mikebits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,214
    Likes:
    174
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca
    When you run BOM.ulp click values box under list type. See attached.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2010
    • Like Like x 1
  8. lilimike

    lilimike Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    Montreal Canada
    Your attachment doesn't work but I tested with Eagle and yes indeed selecting "Values" does the job. I taught this was just sorting the list differently and when I used it before my circuit only had one of each components so I didn't see the difference. That's awesome, I was using Excel but no more!

    Thanks

    Mike
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2010
  9. Boncuk

    Boncuk New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    5,382
    Likes:
    88
    Location:
    Phetchabun,Thailand
    Wow! Are you using $ on your PCB design? (U$1, U$2)

    Why is the second one double as expensive as the first one? (MAR45M)
     
  10. Mikebits

    Mikebits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,214
    Likes:
    174
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca
    No, that was an artifact from my first Eagle schematic. I have since then corrected the expensive part issue:) I just picked a random schematic to create a example of the BOM thingie.
     

Share This Page