1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Discussion: Rules For Drawing Readable Schematics

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by atferrari, Jun 10, 2015.

  1. MaxHeadRoom78

    MaxHeadRoom78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    881
    Likes:
    70
    Location:
    Canada Geog Cen of N.A.
    One of the standards that is not kept to and widely misused is the symbol for earth ground, where it is customarily used for power common, this is aggravated by publications such as Art Of Electronics, who either misuse the symbol throughout the book, or intend all the examples to be ground referenced.
    Dr Archambault has mentioned this in one of his video lectures.
    Where circuitry actually has a ground reference but requires a secondary circuit to be isolated from it can be misleading and catastrophic to say the least when the same symbol is used for both, which happens frequently.:confused:
    Max.
     
  2. jpanhalt

    jpanhalt Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5,888
    Likes:
    501
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH, USA
    I think you interpret "do" way too narrowly.

    John
     
  3. MaxHeadRoom78

    MaxHeadRoom78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    881
    Likes:
    70
    Location:
    Canada Geog Cen of N.A.
    There are several free schematic software packages out there, I graduated from an older expensive Orcad package to Kicad which compares favourably to the legacy version I was using
    Max.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,152
    Likes:
    907
    Location:
    Rochdale UK

    If you loook at the 8051 tutorials... This was done in MS paint!! I have several schematic software drawing packages, but as far as I can see, visual is better..

    I got the idea from mikroC templates.. The more visual the drawing, then the better understanding..

    look at this schematic..
    [​IMG]
    Really visual....
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. NorthGuy

    NorthGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes:
    206
    Location:
    Northern Canada
    I agree with Ian. Must look nice and clear. That's all.

    Who cares if you followed the rules or broke them. Rules are for people who don't want to think for themselves.

    I once read a book about how to write technical manuals. It said: "As a rule of thumb, do not use stupid expressions, such as 'as a rule of thumb ...' ".
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  7. JonSea

    JonSea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes:
    90
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    "Nice and clear" isn't quite enough. It must be easy to understand, particularly if you're asking for help.

    If a schematic isn't easy to follow, the people who may be in the best position to help may pass on by if it's too difficult to follow. The guidelines help make a schematic easier to understand.

    Also, I don't think it's been brought up yet. Post a picture or PDF of the schematic - not a file from the schematic capture program. Not everyone will have the same software.
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2015
    • Agree Agree x 2
  8. audioguru

    audioguru Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    32,440
    Likes:
    933
    Location:
    Canada, of course!
    I also make schematics in MS Paint. I copy and paste parts and parts of datasheets.

    Your schematic is very clear but I think instead of "VCC" it should have the number of volts (3.3V or 5V?).
     
  9. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,152
    Likes:
    907
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    AG!! Not mine... MikroE did that one.... But I see what you mean.. None of mine specify Vcc levels... ( I assume they would look at the datasheet.. Ha Ha Ha Ha!!!!)..
     
  10. Musicmanager

    Musicmanager Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    585
    Likes:
    48
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Errr .. .. what's a datasheet ? :)
     
  11. NorthGuy

    NorthGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes:
    206
    Location:
    Northern Canada
    Often you can run at different Vccs - some PICs can work in a wide range, e.g. 2.5 to 5.5V.
     
  12. granddad

    granddad Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Messages:
    750
    Likes:
    75
    Location:
    Worcestershire UK
    ONLINE
    Although its ancient I used Visio v3 to do schematics way back, I now have to fight with Eagle... , and in my 50 years experience the " Teacher " thing is correct....
     
  13. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,152
    Likes:
    907
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    Just seen this!!

    I used to use WMF for all my drawings....(Windows MetaFile) I stopped as Windows ended up the only ones not supporting it!!! The only way to view WMF on a PC with XP or later is via explorer...
     
  14. kubeek

    kubeek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes:
    185
    Location:
    Prague, Czechia (not Chechnya)
    ...or you can use irfanview for just about any image.
     
  15. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    I agree that PDFs are really the best way to go. They can be viewed on virtually any platform, file sizes are (generally) very small, it's easy to read and zoom in, generally provides a very good quality image, and is very easily portable.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  16. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,152
    Likes:
    907
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    The only thing with PDF's is you HAVE to download them ( My firefox in app PDF reader doesn't work ) That means shed loads in my download folder!!
     
  17. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5,484
    Likes:
    503
    Location:
    Vermont (GMT-5:00)
    If you're getting them online, then sure. But it is still easy to view them, all you need is a PDF reader, of which there are hundreds out there.
     
  18. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,152
    Likes:
    907
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    Most PDF viewers need a local copy... That means you'll find it in the download folder!!

    It's just my little whinge...
     
  19. shortbus=

    shortbus= Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes:
    75
    Location:
    youngstown, oh
    What version of Firefox? I have used it for quite a few years now and it opens PDF's without saving. Foxit reader is what it's called on my versions. You have to actually tell it to save what you want to keep.
     
  20. MaxHeadRoom78

    MaxHeadRoom78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    881
    Likes:
    70
    Location:
    Canada Geog Cen of N.A.
    Yes, when I used Firfox it was great, just view the PDF, I had to switch to Chrome because of the Utube issue and I find it tiresome, that I have to save a PDF before viewing.
    Max.
     
  21. NorthGuy

    NorthGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes:
    206
    Location:
    Northern Canada
    Few years ago, I've got a virus through Adobe Acrobat Reader which automatically opens PDFs. Had to rebuild the computer. Took me few days. I don't use Adobe any more. I now save PDFs and watch them with off-line reader. I have quite a collection :)
     
    • Funny Funny x 1

Share This Page