1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

digital speedometer using AT90S2313

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers' started by fever, May 24, 2006.

  1. eblc1388

    eblc1388 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Not a lot, only 17 fueses! :)

    They are inside three bytes called Low/High/Extended fuse byte. However, the ATTiny2313 designer has already taken care of the user wanting to change to Tiny2313 by providing a table of fuse setting to be used.

    The table is inside a migration document here:

    AVR091: Replacing AT90S2313 by ATtiny2313

    and also posted here for you with changes marked in red. Only the low fuse byte is shown as default factory values are used in both High/Extended fuse bytes and doesn't need any change.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. fever

    fever New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    132
    Likes:
    0
  3. eblc1388

    eblc1388 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    I have a brief look at the link you posted.

    The clock selection in the webpage is "crystal, 8MHz or higher" while in the table by ATMEL is "crystal, 3-8MHz".

    If in doubt, check the AVR2313 datasheet page 26 doc2543.pdf.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. morfus

    morfus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes:
    0

    speedometer query pls help

    pls do tell me tat using this microcontroller can we get a combined instrument that can measure speed as well as distance simultaneously or one at a time. pls do reply electronics gurus:p
     
  6. eblc1388

    eblc1388 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Of course it can. Please refer back to page one of this thread.

    The instrument measures both distance(how many turns of wheel x wheel circumference) and time taken, and then it works out the speed.

    Using the number of turns of the wheel from start to finish, you can work out the total distance travelled.
     
  7. morfus

    morfus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes:
    0
    thanks eblc1388,
    so taht means that the single app can measure both simultaneously
     
  8. morfus

    morfus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes:
    0
    can u suply me the source code that has to be put to the microcontroller memory and it can be operated as a dual instrument measuring speed and distance
     
  9. eblc1388

    eblc1388 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Sorry I can't. I'm not the author of this instrument.

    If you refer to the original edn.com link in page1, the authur has provided the source code file for download.
     
  10. morfus

    morfus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes:
    0
    hello

    nobody seems to answer ere
     
  11. mramos1

    mramos1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,403
    Likes:
    9
    Location:
    Boynton Beach, Florida USA
    eblc1388 told you what you need to do.
     
  12. morfus

    morfus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes:
    0
    ya thanks buddy i got the code but tell me will tat code work as spedometer cum distance meter simultaneously. do i have to modify something in tat code or directly burn it into the microcontroller. pls help. if u cant tell ere pls message me. i need it urgently
     
  13. steev

    steev New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    87
    Likes:
    0
    yes u have to modify the radius of the wheel.
    if u open the .asm file in notepad u'll find the details
     
  14. morfus

    morfus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes:
    0
    halleffect sensor

    can i use hall effect sesor of HONEYWELL in place of allegro as i m not getting it. its no is HI300
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2006
  15. lenniegonzales

    lenniegonzales New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes:
    0
    hi fever.
    uhhmm...do you already have the schematic diagram for that project.. can u send that to me?is that not hard to make?
     
  16. morfus

    morfus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes:
    0
    pls help can i use hall effect sensor from HONEY WELL
     
  17. morfus

    morfus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes:
    0
    hello

    nobody seems to answer
     
  18. fever

    fever New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    132
    Likes:
    0
    may be u can try.any 3 legged hall-sensor work here i think (iam not sure as i don't have one)
    @lenniegonzales
    please go to 1st page,ther u'll find the link.and if u go through all the posts in this thread u'll know abt the code modification etc....
     
  19. Lee_Speakman

    Lee_Speakman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    0
    Hi mate, I made a fully Digital dash and there is many ways you can go about this.

    Im coming from a BASIC STAMP Point of view here (Dont Laugh)

    Here is the main parts list:
    LM2917 'Frequency to Voltage Convertor'
    ADC
    Stamp
    LCD
    Hall Effect

    The hall effect sensor was connected to the LM2917, which was configured to give 1v/60Hz, this was then measured by the ADC and shifted into the stamp.

    I dont know how the AVR works but the stamp could only measure pulses shorter than half a second, which meant it wouldnt read when the car was goingbelow say 20mph. It also meant I could get the stamp measuring other data and instead of couting pulses. HTH Lee

    ADC
     
  20. morfus

    morfus New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    14
    Likes:
    0
    pls help me again

    electronics gurus
    i have made the speedometer but the distance is not getting reset whenever i grnd pin no 1 . the last value remains there. also wen the crt is turned on the and wheel is roated it gives the speed but if the wheel is stationary for some time and again moved there is no reading. i have to power off then on to get it back to normal function. pls do tell me tat is my crt working properly or some rectification is needeed pls do reply
     
  21. bunghole

    bunghole New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    104
    Likes:
    1
    i am also planning on building the speedo, i had a look at the diagram, but some capacitors look like they are greencaps (or ones like them), most of them are 0.1 to 10 uF and higher, but i can't tell if those ones are electrolytic or not. can someone please put them in a list an me what type the are (like c1: c2:, etc)?

    thanks
     

Share This Page