Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

DC motor for charging

Status
Not open for further replies.

romans64

Hi all
Im a newbie in Aus who knows zip about electronics so please bear with me
Im after a mini- small 3-12v dc motor i presume can charge batteries when spin fast ? please correct me and let me know how to do right
But am looking for one attached to pnuematic drive, if i supply compressed air to drive it
Is there anything out there?
All assistance graetly appreciated.

yes a dc motor will produce voltage if you rotate it
but what size motor to use to charge what size battery
a wind turbine is more or less a dc motor(good ones are alternators)
and you would need a regulator
and the brush gear will wear not the best way to charge

As long as the output voltage from the motor is highet than the battery voltage, it will charge.

Problem is, there is a great chance for overcharging your batteries in lack of any circuit between the motor and batteries that can prevent overcharging.

Another problem that is fairly simple to overcome is that when/if the motor rpm goes low, the current will go the other way, that is the batteries will feed power into the engine. Solution is a simple diode in serie that make it possible for the current to go only one way. Then the batteries cannot feed the motor in a low-rpm situation.

How are you planning to use the batteries/motor? Ie. will hte motor become main powersupply ang having batteries as backup, or otherwise?