1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

D-Link DSL 2640U H/W: T1 F/W: ME_1.00

Discussion in 'Repairing Electronics' started by Jugurtha, Jun 30, 2012.

  1. Jugurtha

    Jugurtha Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    164
    Likes:
    18
    Location:
    Algiers
    Hello,

    I've been given that modem and was very interested in repairing it. It is "bricked" I think. All it does is blink. Resetting it doesn't do anything.

    I searched for its firmware everywhere. I mean even D-Link doesn't have the file for that particular hardware version (T1), the others can be found no problem.

    I opened the thing ..


    Casing:

    Model: DSL-2640U
    FCC ID: KA2SL2640BT1
    P/N: ISL2649UEME3.T1E
    H/W: T1
    F/W: ME_1.00



    Inside box, on PCB:
    3990/S1/V1.00/D-Link/Gaw5.6
    T02A-4(dying gasp)Russia/Gaw
    5.6T02-4-DL-R1B010-ME.EN


    PCB:

    Chips:

    - BROADCOM:
    -BROADCOM BCM5325EKQMG \n RG1030 P11 \n 1000410 1A:
    Six port managed 10/100 ROBOswitch.

    -BROADCOM BCM6333KFBG \n HG1041 P12 \n 101123 01:
    SINGLE CHIP ADSL TO ETHERNET CPE ROUTER

    -BROADCOM BCM4312KF86 \n TK1034 P11 \n 993752 82

    - ESMT:
    -M12L128168A- 7T \n AZT1E070G 1028

    - MNC:
    -MNC H2001DG \n 1040


    I learned that Dying Gasp is a signal the router sends to the ISP when there is a current outage to tell him "The connection will be dropped, it's not because there's a bad link .. It's because the power is down".

    It does that with some juice stored in capacitors. And it sends three messages, I think.

    Anyway .. I discovered something interesting too. The device has a Serial Port to talk to me :)

    Looking further, it seems it's a 3.3 volts, and it needs to be level shifted.

    Anyway, but for now .. I wanted to have the firmware.

    So I downloaded many, and by accident, one had a filename in the form of gaw5.6t02-4-dl-r1b030

    So I searched for "gaw5.6t02-4-dl-r1b010" and luckily, I found :)

    http://www.mmnt.net/db/0/0/ftp.dlink-me.com/DLink_ME/ADSL/DSL-2640U/HW T1

    The file can be downloaded here :

    ftp://ftp.dlink-me.com/DLink_ME/ADS...EN_whole_image(0222163812) (1).en_whole_image

    D-Link has messy web-sites, not accessible I do not know why.

    So now, I have to set up something in order to communicate with the box.

    The web interface doesn't work, obviously .. And I think the firmware image has been corrupted. Maybe it won't even be able to talk to me, and I'll have to dump something in the nvram and whatnot.

    Any insight ? Concerning the interface with the PC, etc.

    I also discovered a great program, it's called Flashrom. (http://www.flashrom.org). It's from programming chips (Firmware hubs, etc..).
     
  2. Jugurtha

    Jugurtha Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    164
    Likes:
    18
    Location:
    Algiers
    I should say that it became that way because a friend of mine tried to upgrade the firmware, and it failed. It's been that way from then.



    PS:

    It's amazing what you learn doing tear-downs.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2012
  3. tunedwolf

    tunedwolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes:
    62
    Location:
    UK
    DLink will have the appropriate file, send em an email requesting a copy with the serial number of the device etc.
    It is of course possible that this particular model is under an agreement with an ISP and that DLink are not actually allowed to support it directly, in which case, find out which ISP and contact them for support or get your friend to do it.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Jugurtha

    Jugurtha Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    164
    Likes:
    18
    Location:
    Algiers

    Thanks for the answer..

    Well, hopefully I'm nice enough not to bother D-Link. I think they're still working on their FTP sites. I have already found the file the Fravia+ way :)
     
  6. Jugurtha

    Jugurtha Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    164
    Likes:
    18
    Location:
    Algiers
    Update 0x1:

    I tried to communicate with the router with my PICkit2 ICSP ports... Microman was kind enough to speed the process with the pinout and raising morale. The thing is that the Broadcom chip communicates at a staggering baudrate (115200 baud).. When I use the PICKit2 software, the maximum is 34800 baud. So you see the hic.

    The good thing is that the voltage can be chosen to 3.3 volts.

    I'm thinking to use some PIC (the 16F887 which has an enhanced USART). I have seen that it has the autodetect feature for baudrate, and I have seen the 115200 mentioned in its datasheet... So Router --> PIC --> PICKit2 ICSP --> PC over USB.

    Either this, or using a level converter chip to communicate directly with the computer's serial port. Router --> Chip --> PC.

    Hmmm .. I'll take care of other stuff and think about it a bit more.

    PS: The capacitors are making a weird sound, so I'll have to replace them before I do something.. BUT, when I tried to communicate with it with ICSP, I received one byte RX = 0x20.

    I don't know if it has trasmitted this, or some error as when I move the cables, I had TX = random numbers.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2012

Share This Page