Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Crystal oscillator start-up times

Status
Not open for further replies.

zirissjk

Hi,

I'm new to electronics forums and only a beginner circuit builder. I'm looking to find the start-up times of various crystal oscillators, primarily OCXO stratum class. I know it is difficult information to find due to the random start nature of crystal oscillators but still need to find min/max start times and was wondering if anyone here can point me in the right direction. Thanks.

One of the IC houses (TI, National, Motorola, HP, Analog?) had a great App Note about startup of crystal oscillators.

Not the one I remember, but... Freescale

Last edited:
Welcome, zirissjk!

An OCXO stratum3 class oscillator startup time is one issue (probably ranges from 10-500ms) but a stable frequency (from ambient temp) is altogether another story, depending on what level of stabilization you're looking for. These can range from 5min to over an hour.

As such, I'm wondering why the interest in startup times, as that class oscillator is of little use until its output frequency has settled.

Hey cowboybob,
I'm looking at the stratum 3 class as a good pairing for ToF measurement circuits. More then the initial start-up time I was looking to find the time it takes for the clock to fully settle and restart to a stable oscillation after the oven has already achieved a stable temperature, if that makes sense?