1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

CNC Transformer HELP!

Discussion in 'Repairing Electronics' started by Iawia, May 4, 2017.

  1. Iawia

    Iawia Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    128
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, California US
    Hi,

    A friend of mine just purchased a Fadal CNC machine and put it in his garage. Thinking that the electrical hookup would not be a big deal from three phase 208v to household single phase 220v, it was too good of a machine to pass on so it was purchased.

    Now there is some confusion on how to hook the machine up and there doesn't seem to be a whole lot of information about the transformer(s) online within the machine. We are a little timid to just hook it up to 220 household and see what happens. Do anyone believe this would be an issue? Is there a way to change the jumper settings so it will able to utilize 220v single phase based on the attached images? I am a mechanical guy and not very good with electrical transformer understanding. I mean, the diagram states 210v & 230v, but three phase? Ive never heard of 210 or 230 3 phase.

    Ive heard of 3 phase inverters and such but we are trying to get out of this without burning anymore cash.

    I hope someone here can help. Thanks.

    IMG_3660.JPG IMG_3658.JPG IMG_3659.JPG
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MaxHeadRoom78

    MaxHeadRoom78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    881
    Likes:
    70
    Location:
    Canada Geog Cen of N.A.
    ONLINE
    I think it should be quite simple, the three phase is usually just for 3ph motors such as spindle etc.
    If you scrap the transformer and bring in 240v 1ph and install a VFD for the 3ph motor, all the rest is most likely 1ph control and controller etc.
    You may have a 1ph transformer in the enclosure for this.
    You have to find out what else is 1ph on the machine and what voltage.
    Do you have machine drawings?
    What make/type of CNC control is fitted?
    One down side is IF the largest motor is 7hp then you may not find a VFD for 240v 1ph input.
    210/230 3ph is quite common.
    That is a large machine for home use.
    Max.
     
  3. JimB

    JimB Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes:
    585
    Location:
    Peterhead, Scotland
    My first thoughts were that you would need a 3 phase supply.

    But, most of the motors are probably variable speed, driven from the electronics within the cabinet and so are not worried whether the incoming supply is single phase or three phase.
    Maybe only the coolant motor is driven directly from the incoming supply.

    The rating plate states that the full load current for the unit is 40amps. This is rather a lot and you could overload the incoming household supply when this is added to the existing household load.

    Without a wiring schematic of the unit, this is of course all conjecture.
    More information needed for a definitive answer.

    Nice looking machine. :)

    JimB
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. MaxHeadRoom78

    MaxHeadRoom78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    881
    Likes:
    70
    Location:
    Canada Geog Cen of N.A.
    ONLINE

    I tend to agree, I think it may be more prudent to clean it up and turn it around for a profit and pick up something more home garage sized.
    If you were to use a RPC to run the machine this would increase the already high total current draw considerably.
    Max.
     
  6. Iawia

    Iawia Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    128
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, California US
    We may turn in on with household power today. Will let u know what happens.
     
  7. MaxHeadRoom78

    MaxHeadRoom78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    881
    Likes:
    70
    Location:
    Canada Geog Cen of N.A.
    ONLINE
    That Toshiba unit looks like a spindle drive, you may have a problem with 1ph power on that, likewise the servo amps.
    Max.
     
  8. electronicartist

    electronicartist New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2017
    Messages:
    7
    Likes:
    5
    I would agree, you can try the 240 3 phase setup and connect to 1p and 3p and see what happens it may power on but driving the spindle probally wont go. there may be a lockout if a phase drops though. Lookup a 2 phase to 3 phase coverter, it uses alot of run caps but it might do the job.
     
  9. GromTag

    GromTag Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2016
    Messages:
    296
    Likes:
    38
    Location:
    North Carolina
    hmm. 3 phase? usually 3 breaker set up, the capacitors are all ready installed as it appears. It looks like the 2 Main blue leads plus the grey conduit lead seems an similar issue was faced on its original connection method.

    Might want to find out the voltage operated from, where it came from. That configuration may all ready be wired inside the cabin xempt for the initial hook up method, out right not sure. 3 phase driven to 2 via capacitors?

    http://www.fadalcnc.com/tech-docs

    bottom page, transformers document.

    That's a bit much for me to help with.
     
  10. Joe G

    Joe G Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes:
    16
    Location:
    Florida. USA
    nice easy to use machine, a good one for home use. When we'd lose one of the 3-phase legs, they would not run....
    and FADAL stands for "Fred and David and Larry"
     
  11. Iawia

    Iawia Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    128
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego, California US
    Hi, we did finally flip the switch. The PLCs seemed to be fine but the drives never came up as you guys have predicted. I did suggest to our group that we get rid the machine and look into 'renting' time on another guys machine but the access hours may be too much of a hassle. We are dumping another 1500 into a 3 phase converter. The other option was to generate a 3rd leg from an induction motor which seemed very interesting, but not much cheaper. Perhaps 1/2 the cost of a real one where all phases are 120 degrees apart as opposed to 180 degrees. That would result in a noisy and inefficient machine. Besides, we can probably resell the converter if we ever move it onto a real 3 phase system. We will keep trying here!
     
  12. MaxHeadRoom78

    MaxHeadRoom78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    881
    Likes:
    70
    Location:
    Canada Geog Cen of N.A.
    ONLINE
    A RPC or Rotary Phase Convertor (3ph motor) Does produce 3 ph 120° apart when using 1ph 240v. ;)
    Max.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. shortbus=

    shortbus= Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes:
    75
    Location:
    youngstown, oh
    Not really. Have you seen this site? Lot of information on all types of machining and things pertaining to it. The link is just to the phase converters, but look around once you get there.

    http://www.practicalmachinist.com/vb/transformers-phase-converters-and-vfd/
     

Share This Page