Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Clock Timer : School Project

Status
Not open for further replies.

Canyouknott

Hi, I'm a student in year 11 at the moment and are studying Electrons...

I have started to construct a circuit diagram of a chess clock. That are two main functions on my design which are 'Selecting the time' and 'Starting the timer'...
It's pretty start forward by looking at the labbled switches in the diagram but if there are any questions about it, please do ask...
But the reason I am here on this forum is to ask if it is possible to add more digits to each opponents clocks???

Thanks in advanced **Keep in mind that I have just started Electronics and not a professional yet Cheers :) **

Attachments

• Circuit.jpg
    Circuit.jpg
    191.2 KB · Views: 366
Wait, isn't it possible to add a nand gate which will connect to output 1 and output 8 of 4511IC, then the output of the nand gate is connect to a input on another 4511IC connect to another 7 segment display

Yes it should be easy to add more digits to the clocks, but I will leave that for others to discuss with you.

What I will comment on is the drawing of the schematic.
As is often the case with beginners, there are wires crossing all over the place and badly routed.
This makes it difficult to see what is happening in the circuit.
Example, you have three push buttons with pull-up and debounce, electrically they are identical*, but they are all drawn differently.