1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Cant get audio to work after a fresh XP pro install.

Discussion in 'Computers and Networks' started by tcmtech, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. tcmtech

    tcmtech Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,692
    Likes:
    431
    Location:
    Sawyer, North Dakota, USA
    This one driving me nuts. I cant get the audio to work on a computer I am setting up. I assume it or I am missing something in the setup but I don't know what.

    When I go to the Sounds and audio devices panel I have no control over anything. It says no audio device but my mother board has both front and rear audio inputs and outputs.

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,323
    Likes:
    653
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    Have you installed the device drivers that came with the motherboard?.
     
  3. Mikebits

    Mikebits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes:
    175
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca
    Isn't XP plug n play?
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,323
    Likes:
    653
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK

    Not if it doesn't include the motherboard drivers it's not :D
     
  6. transistor495

    transistor495 Member Forum Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    909
    Likes:
    18
    Location:
    Trivandrum, India
    Isn't xp a very old OS..so newer boards might need audio device drivers separately installed?
     
  7. Mikebits

    Mikebits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,217
    Likes:
    175
    Location:
    San Diego, Ca
    XP service pack 3 is still supported, should have the drivers if MS validated. My question to TCM, is your XP SP3?
     
  8. JimB

    JimB Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    6,390
    Likes:
    591
    Location:
    Peterhead, Scotland
    TCM

    Have a look at the attachment, this is a quich cut from the PC I am using at the moment.
    The question marks in Device Manager show where XP has recognised some hardware, but does not have a driver for it.

    If the driver is missing, you either need the disc with the drivers, or, let the PC go looking on the internet for a suitable driver.

    JimB
     

    Attached Files:

  9. BrownOut

    BrownOut Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,630
    Likes:
    60
    Location:
    Huntsville, Alabama USA
    deleated.
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2012
  10. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,323
    Likes:
    653
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    It's doubtful if his install disc is SP3, wasn't that a much later update?, after Vista had long replaced XP.

    Why not just install the drivers for the board?, if he's not got the CD with them on, he can easily download them - I've done so on many systems I've built using secondhand boards.
     
  11. tcmtech

    tcmtech Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,692
    Likes:
    431
    Location:
    Sawyer, North Dakota, USA
    Here is what I do know.

    Yes I have service pack 3 installed.

    When I go to the device manger screen there is the question mark in the Multimedia audio controller tab. The problem is the hardware update wizard cant find a driver for it. It jujst runs and runs but never gets any place.

    So where do I go to download a compatible driver? I cant find one on the microsoft sites for what ever reason.

    The board is a older Intel D865GL/D865PESO

    I am intending to set it up as a basic media player unit for the living room just to run movies and music on.
     
  12. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,304
    Likes:
    914
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    ONLINE
    If it's an AC97 chipset... you'll need a PCI bridge driver first or it doesn't even SEE the audio chipset... The motherboard chipset drivers need to be installed.
     
  13. tcmtech

    tcmtech Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,692
    Likes:
    431
    Location:
    Sawyer, North Dakota, USA
    I have been working on this a bit more this morning now. So far I have installed the original driver and am working on installing the SoundMax driver from the Intel site.

    It seems to be installing something now so apparently uninstalling what ever it had and rebooting was the trick!

    I had sound on the shutdown! :D

    Thanks for all your almost help! :p
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2012
  14. Mickster

    Mickster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes:
    57
    Location:
    BDA
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2012
  15. tcmtech

    tcmtech Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,692
    Likes:
    431
    Location:
    Sawyer, North Dakota, USA
    :DEverything is working and now its set up as the new media source for the living room! :D

    It still amazes me how well a basic older model computer can run video and related programs once its been stripped of all non essential fluff software.:p

    So far its running out 40 - 50 second boot up times and 5 - 10 second shutdown plus the media players response time from my choosing a movie to actually playing it is almost instant!

    What I built it from is the Intel D865 board my brother was going to toss out with a 2Ghz processor. I added an old case and well used 350 watt power supply, one odd 256 meg ram stick and a second odd 512 meg ram stick, 4 misc hard drives ( 2 SATA 2 regular) totaling about 1.9 TB I had laying around, a cheap wireless keyboard and mouse set, a wireless LAN card I found in a crushed computer in scrap yard burn pile, and a free 15" LCD monitor plus the XP program thats been stripped of about 50 -100 meg of unneeded fluff.

    Cheap dirty and very functional! ;)
     
  16. rjs9163

    rjs9163 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes:
    1
    Location:
    Thane, Maharashtra, India
    Hello tcmtech,
    It looks like you haven't installed sound Drivers yet, You would require to install sound drivers in order to play a sound in windows xp OS. Install Sound drivers and then check it will surely work fine. :)
     
  17. picbits

    picbits Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes:
    95
    Location:
    Northants, United Kingdom
    If you read the rest of this thread you'll notice that he sorted this problem over 5 months ago .....
     

Share This Page