Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Building a Camera Trap

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paulsly

Hi there
This is my first time on this site so hopefully I’m in the right place for this question.
I am a wildlife photographer that is looking at building a Camera trap.

Basically the idea of a camera trap is an active or passive IR sensor that will trigger a camera to take a picture when the beam is broken or Motion and heat is picked up.

I first had a look at a few products on the market but they are really expensive or are built in with the camera, which normally takes a low quility picture.
As I what to attach my Digital SLR to the trap for maximum picture quality and out in the bush I will need it to be powered by a battery and then prey it does not get stolen or damaged.

I have found 2 products on the market that I want to try and replicate
Phototrap The Ultamate Photographic Trigger System and https://www.trailmaster.com/reference.php

I prefer Phototraps design as you can use a laser beam in a few different ways to take pictures.

But ultimately what could be perfect is a design that I could swap between passive and active Infrared.

My circuit and electronics knowledge is very limited but would be very thankful if anyone could provide me with some circuit drawings or ideas that could help me to build one.
Thanks for your time in advanced.
Regards
Paul

> My circuit and electronics knowledge is very limited