Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

[beginner question] Filter Capacitor? Flyback Diode? Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MathGeek

Ok. Let the truth be told. I am a beginner.

I am building a simple two motored walker.

In order to move, the motors rotate in one direction for a second and the other direction for a second, so forth. In order to move forward, each direction must last the same period of time, ie one second. You can imagine there are lots of fluctuation here.

So, the brain is 16F628 programmed by ICD2. The motor control is done by Texas Instrument CD74AC139E dual 2-to-4 line decomplexer(very handy for small motors).

OK, here is the problem. The motors are supposed to rotate in each direction for one second. If i put two LED's instead of a motor, each LED blink for one second, alternating each time.

However, when I put motors, the timing is off and motors start to rotate in one direction for half a second or some times totally skips a cycle. I came to believe that my 16F628 is being interfered or confused and instructions are not carried out properly. I came to suspect that this is caused by fluctuation that my motor is creating. (If you have any other idea, please tell)

I don't have any filter cap, and I don't even know what it is. I heard I have to put a .1 uF capacitor across a IC. So, woudl I put a capacitor across my CD74AC139E? Do I put a filter cap across my motor terminals also?