Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

basics of 8051 microcontroller

Status
Not open for further replies.

PG1995

Hi

I have started learning 8051 microcontroller using this book. You can see the list of the chapters in the attachment. In first five or six chapters the book uses assembly language and afterwards it uses C language. I have some basic knowledge of C++ programming.

Is there any software available (I'm sure there would be one) which I can use to learn the basic assembly language programming, or programming in general, of 8051? For example, when I was learning basic C++ I used CodeBlocks compiler. The compiler, simulator or whatever you want to recommend me should use graphical user interface (not some DOS kind of stuff). Thank you for your help.

Regards
PG

Hi PG... Jon Wilder posted this IDE / Simulator http://mcu8051ide.sourceforge.net/ for people like you who want to program 8051 and derivatives

I have been using it with SDCC.... I also use VSM studio IDE from Labcenter... It also interfaces to SDCC so you can do C as well.

Thank you, Eric, Rogers.

I'm a total beginner so simple stuff would do for me.

It says that it has everything in one place, code editor, assembler, etc. and can even work as a simple virtual trainer (e.g. it has LEDs etc.). Is this really true? Do you know of any better simple software out there besides this one?

Thanks for the help.

Regards
PG

Hi Rogers