Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

auto starting a diesel generator

Status
Not open for further replies.

ritchie

Hi ,

I'm an electrical engineer and my knowledge about diesel engines is low, I want to run a diesel generator automatically, I wanna know how an automatic starter work? or another word when the start command send automatically, how can stop it(start signal)after engine run?, and what's the signal that help me to know the engine run and don't need the start signal afterwards,can i use the rising of frequency or voltage in the output of generator with an over/under frequency or voltage relay to stopping the start signal?

thanks a lot

Hi ,

I'm an electrical engineer and my knowledge about diesel engines is low, I want to run a diesel generator automatically, I wanna know how an automatic starter work? or another word when the start command send automatically, how can stop it(start signal)after engine run?, and what's the signal that help me to know the engine run and don't need the start signal afterwards,can i use the rising of frequency or voltage in the output of generator with an over/under frequency or voltage relay to stopping the start signal?

thanks a lot

Sounds like monitoring engine RPM [RPMe] and starter RPM [RPMs] is a good place to begin. Cut the starter when RPMe > RPMs for some short time interval, so I guess one possible prelim. P/L would be two F-V convertors, a comparator and a timer.

Last edited: