1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Audio Input Help

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by SeanHatch, Jan 9, 2003.

  1. SeanHatch

    SeanHatch New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    97
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Hello, I have two questions having to do with audio inputs. The first one is: On my input jack, there are 4 prongs, I was wondering, does it matter which one of these you make "hot" and which one "ground"? If it does, how do you know which to use? The second question is: How to a bypass the circuit that is within the two "hot" ends of the Jacks, can I just do this with some sort of switch, if so, what kind?
     
  2. herbymcduff

    herbymcduff New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    205
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    when you say input jack, do you mean like a headphone, or auxilary input? And if so it does matter. If your using Mono, I guess not really, but stereo it does. And to bypass, yes. You could probably do it with a toggle switch. Post more info on what kind of audio input your working with.
     
  3. SeanHatch

    SeanHatch New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    97
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    I am making an effects peddle for a guitar, so I'm pretty sure the sound would be mono? Anyway all these inputs look like is the metal cylinder encased in a square of plastic, and each corner has a prong.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. tommy

    tommy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes:
    0

    you are using a ring tipped sleeve ..yes this matters tip is hot....next ring ig is ground ...dont short this connection you if this a good amp like a marshal you will just blow a fuse in the affects loop .........if this directly to the preamp be careful ...the pre amp is not as strong as the power amp..........if this is a circuit board amp be sure of you connections and use a standard a-b switch you are making a very simple connection..make sure when the jack is plugged in the contact touching the tip is hot
     

Share This Page