1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Arduino Programmer

Discussion in 'Arduino' started by AtomSoft, Apr 5, 2012.

  1. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,808
    Likes:
    135
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    ONLINE
    atom you need to set this

     
  2. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    where at? oops


    C:\arduino-1.0\drivers
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2012
  3. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    What do i put there... why is this overcomplicated? lol arg!
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US

    Ok i just ordered 10x FT232RL since i know these should work with no issue at all. But im getting them from china... about $3 each when you factor in shipping but will take a few weeks to arrive which i can wait. I think i have one here and will look for it to test it with but im sure it should work as its what most people use.
     
  6. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,808
    Likes:
    135
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    ONLINE
    i don't really no what you do but there are boards using the same chip as yours but the files to load drivers are all that's changed C:\Documents and Settings\Burt\My Documents\Downloads\arduino-1.0-windows\arduino-1.0\drivers
     
  7. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,808
    Likes:
    135
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    ONLINE
    atom my uno shows up uno com port 7 what chip are you using i looked back can't find the target chip
     
  8. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,808
    Likes:
    135
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    ONLINE
    There are a bunch of clones out there that work fine with the ardunio software

    I have added a ATMEGA644 it used strait rs232 you just point to the com port so what you
    need to fix is in the bootloader witch is open source
     
  9. AtomSoft

    AtomSoft Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes:
    41
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY US
    I got it working... would you believe it was a CAPACITOR i had to add ... OMG so picky :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 13, 2012
  10. wlinux

    wlinux New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    0
    Reset

    The circut to connect the atmega(16)8 to the ftdi chip is like what you described. but to use the reset pin you need a 10nano-farad capacitor connected between dtr and reset. If you do not want to shell out the money for usb-ftdi then you can use a software usb stack like the one that the metaboard (https://metalab.at/wiki/Metaboard) uses.
     

Share This Page