1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

Anyone near Rotherham who could test my Scope?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by bigal_scorpio, Aug 10, 2008.

  1. bigal_scorpio

    bigal_scorpio Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire England
    Hi Eric,

    Pics of my lovely Sine wave. :)

    Al
     

    Attached Files:

  2. bigal_scorpio

    bigal_scorpio Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire England
    Hi again,

    Just to say I thought I'd posted the earlier pics when I was getting 0.5v.

    Must have forgot to press upload again! wondered why you said the pics were small Eric. hehehe

    Al
     
  3. on1aag

    on1aag New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    512
    Likes:
    8
    Hi al,

    It looks a lot better than mine. :eek:

    [​IMG]

    on1aag.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,234
    Likes:
    641
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK

    Looking good Al!.
     
  6. bigal_scorpio

    bigal_scorpio Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire England
    Hi Guys,

    Thanks Nigel.

    Is on1aag having me on? Is that really a sine wave displayed on his scope?

    If it is it must be worse than mine was. ;)

    Al
     
  7. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,234
    Likes:
    641
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    It's a sinewave displayed using a 3 bit A2D, hence the limited number of levels.
     
  8. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,189
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi Al,
    Thats a nice sinewave, a Wien osc when set up correctly can produce a pure sinewave, which is essential for measuring the caps ESR.

    Cant wait to see the next project you mentioned.;)
     
  9. bigal_scorpio

    bigal_scorpio Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire England
    :)

    Hi to all,

    Just a bit of follow up info.

    I mentioned earlier in the thread that one of my BNC connectors was iffy, so when I'd swapped it with the EXT one for now, I looked on Ebay and found some, 5 for £5.50 inluding postage! And they are silver plated!

    I bought them and they came the next day and the seller was really informative and helpful and when they arrived he had given me double for being the first buyer! :) I'm sure he will sell other things in the future.

    Not many sellers on Ebay are as nice as this one so I thought I'd give his handle out in case anyone needs to buy anything, I highly recommend him!
    He's almost as nice as Eric and Nigel from this forum. ;)

    On Ebay he is called dibs999 so if you need anything check his auctions first!

    Al :)
     
  10. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,189
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi Al,
    This is the pdf you PM'd for.:)


    Nigel,
    Looking back thru Al's picture postings of the Wien trace, it looks like 200KHz rather than the 100KHz in the design pdf.

    Al's checked R1/C1 and R2/C2 OK.

    Wondering if his Scope X Time base may need confirming.?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 13, 2008
  11. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,234
    Likes:
    641
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    It's hard to tell what the scope is set to in the other picture, it looks like it may be set to 2uS/cm - which would be right.
     
  12. bigal_scorpio

    bigal_scorpio Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire England
    Hi Nigel and Eric and all,

    Tell you what guys I'll do the test again and note the settings exactly. :)

    Al
     
  13. bigal_scorpio

    bigal_scorpio Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes:
    4
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire England
    Hi Nigel and Eric and all,

    Tell you what guys I'll do the test again and note the settings exactly. :)

    Here they are guys settings 1v/cm vertical and 2uS time/cm.

    Think Nigel was right, it was set on 2uS the first time.

    Al
     

    Attached Files:

  14. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,189
    Likes:
    644
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi Al,
    Thats good, As they say 'If in doubt, Ask.!'
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2008
  15. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,234
    Likes:
    641
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    I don't know about you Eric, but I've used scopes in the past where it's difficult to read the exact setting, even with the scope in front of you. I often resort to turning the knob fully to one end, and counting the clicks back :D

    No such problem on my Grundig scope at work, it has a digital timebase display, and auto-setting timebase, with manual override (buttons to step up and down).
     

Share This Page