Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Any way to identify SMD capacitors?

Status
Not open for further replies.

fastline

Working on a motion control board that has failed. I have sourced one small SMD cap that is showing shorted? Seems odd to me but I am no pro with this. Is a shorted ceramic cap a typical failure mode?

We have another identical board and I was going to compare the boards but I was curious, SMD resistors seems to follow a coding process but do capacitors by chance to identify them?

Last edited:
Yes, shorted cap is a typical failure mode.

I didn't even realize SMD resistors had a code of any kind.

I choose to get resistors with a code. 103=10,000
I have a very hard time getting caps with any numbers.

Beware when "experts" use words like never and impossible. It is difficult to prove a negative, as the following pictures will attest. At some point resistors are simply too small to mark but those in the pictures are 0805 components. I believe 0603 resistors are marked as well.

On the other hand, *I* have never seen 0805 or 0603 capacitors marked with values - I'm not sure why they are not.

20170918_143436.jpg
20170918_143306.jpg

My experience is that surface mount caps (which I assume are MLCC's - generally buff/brown in colour) are awlays unmarked. I don't know why; it's pretty annoying.