1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

A big software update is on its way!

Discussion in 'Site Issues & Feedback' started by ElectroMaster, Sep 10, 2013.

  1. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,302
    Likes:
    914
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    It also say's "Online" under your name when you are...
     
  2. killivolt

    killivolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,213
    Likes:
    121
    Location:
    U.S.
    I found it. In the drop down of your name at the top right hand corner of the page it's the (Show Online Statue Button), at the bottom of the drop down, you can change your status and also, put remarks there. So when someone clicks on your name, they will see where you are e.g. BBL or Sorry, not at my computer, Im eating buffalo Jerky with some indian friends.

    What ever, but if they click your name, they will see that status, just below your name. ( I will either be (Online) or something else. Like anyone would care, but for senior members it might be helpful for some soul waiting for a reply.
     
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2013
  3. BeerBelly

    BeerBelly Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Likes:
    15
    Location:
    Northern California
    I don't know if this has been covered yet but I can't find a way to download an image from my computer. I can only reference a URL for an image.
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. killivolt

    killivolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,213
    Likes:
    121
    Location:
    U.S.

    I thought about that too!
     
  6. KeepItSimpleStupid

    KeepItSimpleStupid Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,963
    Likes:
    1,099
    BB: Confused with your terms:
    Download from computer doesn't make much sense.
    Describe the target and describe the source.

    The following options make sense:
    a) UPLOAD file to Forum server; Target: ETO, Source: "My documents"
    b) Download file from Forum server Target: "My documents" Source: ETO

    Which one are you having trouble with?
    Operating System?
    Browser?
     
  7. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,302
    Likes:
    914
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    To upload an image there is a "Upload a File" button next to "Post Reply"....
     
  8. killivolt

    killivolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,213
    Likes:
    121
    Location:
    U.S.
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2013
  9. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,233
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
  10. killivolt

    killivolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,213
    Likes:
    121
    Location:
    U.S.
    I had trouble making a copy of the URL, I finally had to right click and had to copy the Url, I haven't had any trouble before today.

    It's post 11. I fixed it in my previous post.

    kv
     
  11. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,233
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    hi kv,
    I have had no problems with uploading or copying images.??

    To Save to my PC, I enlarge the image so that I can see it, then left click on the image and get a pop up menu and click Save Image As... to my PC.
    E
     
  12. killivolt

    killivolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,213
    Likes:
    121
    Location:
    U.S.
    Your left handed aren't you, you lucky dog. I wish I was.
     
  13. killivolt

    killivolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,213
    Likes:
    121
    Location:
    U.S.
  14. killivolt

    killivolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,213
    Likes:
    121
    Location:
    U.S.
    Show you online Status in the drop down below your name. I clicked it but, I still see I'm online and what I'm viewing.

    Is this only for me to see, or is everyone else seeing me offline?
     
  15. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,315
    Likes:
    1,230
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    Everyone else sees if you're online or not. What would be the point of only you seeing it?
     
  16. killivolt

    killivolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,213
    Likes:
    121
    Location:
    U.S.
    I worded it wrong, I unchecked it. Not sure if it works right, I would have thought I would appear off line, I'm leaving it unchecked to see if anyone can see me still online.

    I think that's better than, telling people your away, in the online status comment, if it works? At this point I can't tell.
     
  17. ericgibbs

    ericgibbs Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Messages:
    21,233
    Likes:
    645
    Location:
    Ex Yorks' Hants UK
    Perhaps I am missing something, but why would you want other members not to know that you are online.??:lurking:
     
  18. Ian Rogers

    Ian Rogers Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    9,302
    Likes:
    914
    Location:
    Rochdale UK
    But it say's "ONLINE" under your name when you are online.... I know exactly who's online... Also at the front page we are all listed there...
     
  19. alec_t

    alec_t Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    9,315
    Likes:
    1,230
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    Your status is not now visible to me. Eric's isn''t visible. Ian's is.

    Edit: Strange. Just a hint of the top of Eric's status is visible; the rest is hidden under the heading of the next post ??
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2013
  20. killivolt

    killivolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,213
    Likes:
    121
    Location:
    U.S.

    Either I type in the Status comment "I'm away from my computer" or I should be able to just not show I'm online or not. That way I'm not logging in and out. While away, I thought it would be helpful to posters, they see someone online and have no idea their away from their computer. I just think it's polite, so they aren't left hanging.
     
  21. killivolt

    killivolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,213
    Likes:
    121
    Location:
    U.S.
    Click on my name and look at my online status. "Gone to the store, bbl." but, I should just be able to uncheck the "Show your online" and be invisible. e.g. not logging in and out.
     

Share This Page