1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

3x3x3 LED Cube - can i use16f628 instead 16f690

Discussion in 'Microcontrollers' started by robotsmani, Jan 20, 2009.

  1. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,808
    Likes:
    135
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    ONLINE
    There is no C file it was done in assembly.
     
  2. Weepet

    Weepet New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Sainte-Marie, QC, CA
    Hello be80be,

    I just finished reading the whole post and I think I'm ready to modify the .asm file to work for my 16f872.

    I was wondering what program you use to make your schematics ?

    Thank you for your help !
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2011
  3. Weepet

    Weepet New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Sainte-Marie, QC, CA
    be80be,

    I saw in your code for the PIC16f628 the line


    movwf CMCON ;turn comparators off (make it like a 16F84)

    Should I let it there for a PIC16F872 and why ?

    Thanks, I read the awesome Gooligum tutorials (http://www.electro-tech-online.com/custompdfs/2011/04/PIC_Base_A_1.pdf)

    and I think I'll be okay to change the other lines for a 16F872

    EDIT : I did the first line changes and I'm not sure of these lines

    movwf CMCON ;turn comparators off (make it like a 16F84) ?
    org 0x0000 ;org sets the origin, 0x0000 for the 16F628 and for the 16F872 ?
    movlw d'50' ;delay 250 ms (4 MHz clock) ( with a 16F872, there is no internal oscillator so I'll need to make an external one. With a RC osc (easier) I can reach 3.5MHZ, would it be engouh ? no ? What would be the code to fit with a 3.5 MHz clock

    Again, thanks for your useful comments !

    Weepet
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2011
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Weepet

    Weepet New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Sainte-Marie, QC, CA

    Finished

    Hey guys :D

    It's working !

    Thanks for the help !

    I'll try to post a video of my 3x3x3 LEB Cube with a PIC16F872 soon.
     
  6. sahu

    sahu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    468
    Likes:
    3
    i want to use 5*5*5 LED Cube with costume animation it may possible ?
     
  7. Weepet

    Weepet New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Sainte-Marie, QC, CA
    Yes, as long as you have enough output on your micro-controller.

    5 rows + (5*5) 25 columns = 30 outputs
     
  8. sahu

    sahu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    468
    Likes:
    3
    who pic micro-controller ( 16f ) has 5 rows + (5*5) 25 columns = 30 outputs ?
     
  9. guus46a

    guus46a New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes:
    0
    It works perfect
     
  10. gregted1

    gregted1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    I am also interested in this led cube project but I have a 16F88 Pic. Has anyone written an asm or hex file for this chip?
     
  11. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,808
    Likes:
    135
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    ONLINE
    It's not that hard to do just set the chips configure and pints up that your going to use and it should work fine with that chip.
     
  12. amdkicksass

    amdkicksass Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes:
    0
    Hey folks, I am also trying to create this cube with the PIC 16F628 and i have went through all the pages of this thread and downloaded all the files.

    It seems that every asm/hex file and every schematic has slight variations with respect to the LED lines.

    Can someone point me to the correct combination that will work :)

    I appreciate it !!

    Pete
     
  13. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,808
    Likes:
    135
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    ONLINE
    It's not that hard there one pin on the 16F628 that's can't output 5 volts and thats what made this thread so long lol.

    I no longer have code for this but I was going to make a blue one when my leds get here. I'll post working code this week if you want.
     
  14. amdkicksass

    amdkicksass Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes:
    0
    Thank you so much for your response Burt !!

    Perhaps this may be helpful then and save double work, i have downloaded and attached the unique files on this thread asm/schematics.

    If you can point me in the right direction id really appreciate it, id like to make a few boards/cubes as gifts for some close people.

    Thanks
    Pete
     

    Attached Files:

  15. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,808
    Likes:
    135
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    ONLINE
    This will work
    Code (text):

    PORTA.2 turns on layer1
    PORTA.6 turns on layer2
    PORTA.7 turns on layer3
    PORTB 0 to 7 are led's 1 to 8 and PORTA.3 is led 9
     
    *Layer sink with a npn and portb sources the power to the Leds.
    And this asm
     

    Attached Files:

  16. amdkicksass

    amdkicksass Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes:
    0
    Much Appreciated Burt !!

    Does the schematic look right to you corresponding to the code given ?

    Pete
     

    Attached Files:

  17. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,808
    Likes:
    135
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    ONLINE
    Looks good
     
  18. killivolt

    killivolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,212
    Likes:
    121
    Location:
    U.S.
    Pete, could you write the values of all the external components Please.

    Thank you.

    Regards,
    kv
     
  19. be80be

    be80be Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,808
    Likes:
    135
    Location:
    morristown,tn
    ONLINE
    I used 150 ohm on the leds and 1k on the npn
     
  20. killivolt

    killivolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3,212
    Likes:
    121
    Location:
    U.S.
    I looked on the other schematics and I think I got that part, I just wanted all the Values displayed on the final to make it easier to read, What value was C2 on VSS? I really like the 2 drawings in Post # 293
     
  21. amdkicksass

    amdkicksass Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Likes:
    0
    No Problem at all, Ill update the schematic tonight and repost :)

    Pete
     

Share This Page