Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

3 1/2" floppy drive robot

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

I am from bangalore. i have some old 3 1/2" floppy drive. i want to build a robot using. it should autonomous and using the ultrasonic or IR sensors(which is cheap and best?).

I am really a beginner to robotics. i want buy all the components and tools for build this.

Please suggest me what are the tools and components required for this and where i get it in bangalore.

Thanks,
Robotsmani

Not much you can salvage from a 3.5" drive. Now a 5.25" has a couple of nice motors. As for electronics nothing of any value for a robot brain.

unfortunately i don't have. i just bought these floppy and hard disk from scarp market. what about cd/dvd drives?

next week i will go and buy something. which old computer parts is worth?

Thanks

Here is my plan for the simple robo. it will have two wheels and move forward and backward. if there is some obstacle it will rotate turn left or right. For this i need two motors and wheels and some sensors and ofcourse a brain(controller).

Which controller is best for beginning (microcontroller or simple H-bridge)

Correct me if i am wrong....

Thanks

OK, i am planning to buy the microcontroller, etc... Which is better? PIC or AVR or 8051?. and i enquired some programmer kit and development kit. i dont understand what is the difference between them. can anybody tell me what is development kit and what is a programmer kit(it is costly :-( ).