1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

2 Pulses to 1 Pulse generator with higher current

Discussion in 'Electronic Projects Design/Ideas/Reviews' started by veeru612, Jul 10, 2017.

  1. veeru612

    veeru612 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    0
    Hi,
    I am new to this forum and really don't know how it works. I have a request - I am looking for a pulse generator that generates 1 pulse for every 2 pulses it receives and also boost the current from 150 mA to 300 mA. Is there any off the shelf circuit that I can buy ?.
    The pulses generated usually have a 300-500 usec ON time, 14-20 msec OFF time and these come from an edge detector depending on the speed of the motor, with a voltage of about 5V. I want it to connect to another device but want the other device to trigger on alternate edges.

    Thanks,
    Veeru
     
  2. veeru612

    veeru612 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    0
    I think it is a D flipflop type frequency divider that would help me get what I want - any commercial off the shelf circuit that I could buy ?.
    If not, how much would it cost to make a custom board. Are there any sources that make custom boards like these ?

    Thanks,
    Veeru
     
  3. Reloadron

    Reloadron Well-Known Member Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    6,777
    Likes:
    281
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    ONLINE
    D flip flop divide by two driving a transistor should give you what you want. I just don't know of a nice packaged break out board. A CD4013 D Flip Flop driving a 2N2222 transistor should get you what you want. THe former radio shack sold a simple general-purpose IC PC board accepts two 6 to 20-pin ICs and DIPs which would have made for an easy build but they are gone. You may find a similar little board. There is not much to what you want, I just don't know of a simple turn key solution. Maybe someone else has some thoughts?

    Ron
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2017
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. AnalogKid

    AnalogKid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes:
    160
    Location:
    Ohio - GMT-5

    About that 300 mA output - what is the load it is driving?
    Is the load connected to ground, 5 V, something else?
    Does the output have to both source and sink 300 mA?
    What is the power source for this circuit? Voltage, current, length of wires?

    Not a difficult circuit or project; as above, 1/2 of one chip, plus one transistor (maybe, depending on your answers). To prototype it you can use a small solderless protoboard

    ak
     
  6. veeru612

    veeru612 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Likes:
    0
    Thank you for the reply. I had to change the spec, need to convert 24V DC pulse by half. It has to drive 12 GigE Cameras and they have to get triggered by this pulse every 6 msec. The sensor gives a pulse every 3 msec and that is why I need a frequency divider/pulse multiplier.
     
  7. AnalogKid

    AnalogKid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes:
    160
    Location:
    Ohio - GMT-5
    Your new spec is not clear.
    A 24 V tall pulse occurs continuously at a 166.67 Hz rate (once every 6 ms)?
    The pulses still have a 300-500 usec ON time.
    Do you still want an output pulse on both the leading and trailing edges of the input pulse?
    Or do you want a double pulse initiated by the leading edge, no matter how wide the input pulse is?

    A sketch of the input and output pulse trains will save a lot of electrons from an unnecessary fate.

    ak
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. ci139

    ci139 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    388
    Likes:
    34
    you (veeru612) sound like industry - by your "product" specs - do you have to fit anywhere inside any std.-s ??
    suppose you have:
    sensor --- cable.1 --- interface/controller/???/controller/interface --- cable.2 --- camera
    what's you actual timing requirements for dt sensor triggers to exposure done
    perhaps you should be continuously monitoring the "work area" and pick the frames matching (/?"containing") the sensor trigger times
     

Share This Page