1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

~150V DC Regulator?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Berserk87, Sep 15, 2009.

  1. Berserk87

    Berserk87 New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes:
    0
    is there such thing as a regulator that can handle around 150V DC?

    preferably a buck converter, not something that just turns the extra energy into heat.

    ive been searching, but all the ones im finding are 80V input max.
     
  2. RCinFLA

    RCinFLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes:
    31
    Location:
    FLA, USA
    All the cheap A.C. inverters have a high frequency switching boost transformer power supply that creates about 155 vdc output. This is followed by a MOSFET H-bridge that creates the modified sinewave output to A.C. socket.

    If your are looking for 150 vdc from A.C. mains I am sure there is switching power supply out there somewhere.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2009
  3. Electronworks

    Electronworks New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes:
    2
    Try having a look at Power Integrations. They work off rectified (and smoothed) ac which is the same as dc..
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. Berserk87

    Berserk87 New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes:
    0

    :confused:

    im trying to take 150VDC down to something around 40VDC.
     
  6. blueroomelectronics

    blueroomelectronics Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    12,536
    Likes:
    168
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    What sort of current?
     
  7. Berserk87

    Berserk87 New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes:
    0
    150V input , 32V ouput at 1Amp.
     
  8. bountyhunter

    bountyhunter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes:
    81
    You could easily build a buck to do that. However, it would be running at only 20% duty cycle so it wouldn't be real efficient.... still way more efficient than a linear.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2009
  9. Berserk87

    Berserk87 New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes:
    0
    Any links or suggestions? The only bucks I've "designed" are using national semiconductors web bench, and they don't seem to have a solution for what I need.
     
  10. Speakerguy

    Speakerguy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,473
    Likes:
    15
    Location:
    USA
    What is your load? A DC source, or does transient response matter?

    You can totally made a DC/DC converter without some pre-fabbed chip or module meant for that purpose. The dsPICs are used a lot for power converter 'brains'.
     
  11. Berserk87

    Berserk87 New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes:
    0
    It doesn't matter, the load would be a bunch of LEDs and a possibly a micro controller or other simple things.
     
  12. bountyhunter

    bountyhunter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,560
    Likes:
    81
    As loathe as I am to throw NS business, you could probably use a 400V PNP or P-FET as the power pass device bucking the main DC input, and use a switcher IC to drive an NPN with it's emitter grounded whose collector pulls down on the P buck transistor. There are probably a bunch of generic switcher controllers you could use, you will have to create a lower voltage rail like 20V to run the IC maybe with a power resistor and zener down from 150V. That bias voltage rail can be poorly regulated, doesn't matter.
     
  13. Mr RB

    Mr RB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,716
    Likes:
    194
    Location:
    Out there
    Just buy a 110v mains to 32v DC switchmode supply. That will work fine from 150v DC input instead of 110v AC.
     
  14. RCinFLA

    RCinFLA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes:
    31
    Location:
    FLA, USA
    Regular AC switching power supply will work from 150 vdc.

    Just don't get a power factor corrected power supply.

    If you want you can bypass the rectifier bridge in the switching power supply.
     

Share This Page