Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

12v DC motor to open and close a door

Status
Not open for further replies.

b***nb

Hello, I'm just a beginner in the electronics field and still a student. I'm currently working on a project that will open the lid on a box about ((L)x(W)x(H))= 36"x24"x12" and then automatically close it after say 6 or 7 hours.

I have every thing built and figured out accept for a motor or system to actually open and close the lid.

I'm using a 12v sealed lead acid battery with a programmable switch and a 12v solar panel to recharge the battery out in the field. The programmable switch will allow me to control when power is supplied to the unit. Kinda of like on, off, on, off. However I was thinking of using a 12v dc motor that would use an arm on the end of it to push up when the motor is at 12 o'clock and close the lid when the motor is at 6 o'clock.

My problem lies in the motor its timing, speed, reversible?
I went with 12V DC with the idea of using a motor from a car like a powered antenna or window regulator?

Money is a factor and I need to be able to complete this, any ideas or help in design will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

My problem lies in the motor its timing, speed, reversible?
I went with 12V DC with the idea of using a motor from a car like a powered antenna or window regulator?