Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

12C and SPI

Status
Not open for further replies.

fromansr

I think this is a complete newbie question...but is it possible to operate an SPI IC and a 12C IC simultaneously, using a pic micro that has 1 MSSP module. Judging from the datasheet (16f887), it seems I can only use 1 mode at a time. Does this mean I need a micro that has more than 1 MSSP??

Thanks for any help and sorry for all the questions ive been posting!!!

If you mean connect both I2C and SPI devices to the same MSSP port and have the PIC switch back and forth between I2C and SPI modes to communicate with only one set of devices on the line, then yes. Obviously, you can't send an SPI and I2C signal over the same set of wires at the same time.

You write code that reconfigures the port back and forth between the I2C and SPI functionality when switching modes. You also need to take care that I2C and SPI messages don't get read by the wrong device. Preventing SPI devices from reading I2C messages is easy since you jsut disable all SPI devices with chip select when sending I2C messages.