1. Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.
    Dismiss Notice

10 Channel Light Bulb Sequencer

Discussion in 'Electronic Projects' started by kinjalgp, Dec 27, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kinjalgp

    kinjalgp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    INDIA/USA
    Project Level: Intermediate
    Here is a simple 10 channel light bulb sequencer circuit which you can build up to decorate your house.
    OPERATION
    The circuit consists of 2 sections:
    1) Oscillator: The oscillator is built around IC555 wired in astable mode. The frequency of this oscillator is around 1 Hz (or slightly less than that) which can be increased further by decreasing the value of potentiometer VR1. The oscillator frequency determines the speed of effect. Higher the frequency, higher will be the effect speed.

    2) Sequencer circuit: The sequential lighting of bulbs is achieved using Jhonson Counter IC 4017 which has 10 decoded outputs. The output of 4017 increments by one on rising edge of each clock pulse from IC555. In the circuit the fifth output Q4 of 4017 is connected to its reset pin to reset the sequence after every four clock pulses. Here only four channels are shown but it can be extended upto 10 channels using all the outputs of 4017. In this case the reset need to be connected to Ground. For channels less than 10 the output one greater than required number of channels should be connected to reset pin to reset the cycle as soon as counter counts one greater than the required channels.

    The output of 4017 drives the base of NPN transistors (BC547) through 1k resistors. The LED in the collector loop of each transistor indicates the active channel. The emitter current of each transistor further drives the gate of Triacs (BT139) thereby turning them ON and supplying power to the lamp loads. Those who have 120V AC mains in their countries can also use this circuit without any changes. Many number of bulbs can be connected in parallel on each channel provided the maximum load on each channel does not exceed 3500W for 220V operation and 1760W for 110V operation.

    :arrow: NOTE: DO NOT TOUCH ANY COMPONENT OF THE CIRCUIT WHEN IT IS ACTIVE AS IT MAY BE AT A VERY HIGH POTENTIAL AND MAY PROVE FATAL. I DO NOT GIVE GURANTEE OF ANY KIND. EXPERIMENT AT YOUR OWN RISK.

    Feel free to give your feedback!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. denidoank

    denidoank New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes:
    0
    I don't see any optoisolat for your circuit.......it is ok?
     
  3. Phasor

    Phasor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    703
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Why would it need isolation? :?:
     
  4. dave

    Dave New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 1997
    Messages:
    -
    Likes:
    0


     
  5. ElectroMaster

    ElectroMaster Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes:
    127
    Location:
    Broadbeach, AU

    nice project kinjalgp!
     
  6. kinjalgp

    kinjalgp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    INDIA/USA
    Thanks Electromaster! It seems you saw this project 2 years after posting!
    :lol:
     
  7. ElectroMaster

    ElectroMaster Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes:
    127
    Location:
    Broadbeach, AU
    arrr!!! no now i remember you posting it!!! I just saw it back on top and I thought it was another... :oops:

    Memory must be slipping in my old age :wink:
     
  8. haerifar

    haerifar New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes:
    0
    Location:
    Iran - Tehran
    nice post thanks its useful for me
    i used some part of your circuit in another project
    thanks.... :D
     
  9. kazimahbub

    kazimahbub New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes:
    0
    thanks dsf
     
  10. Rami00972

    Rami00972 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Likes:
    0
    can i use t106m1

    Can i replace the BT139 with T106M1 and which one is the better
    Thanks
     
  11. kinjalgp

    kinjalgp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    INDIA/USA
    No you cant use T106M1. Its a SCR while BT139 is a TRIAC. SCR will only conduct in one half of the AC cycle thereby producing only half of the actual intensity from lamps.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2007
  12. advautomation

    advautomation New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes:
    0
    switching the neut with the BT139

    Is there a reason that you are switching the neut with the BT139? Can I switch the Hot? This project is just what to doctor ordered!!
     
  13. jumides

    jumides New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes:
    0
    review the date first before reply

    another lesson for new member, like me. but i like this project. :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2007
  14. abida

    abida New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes:
    0
    query

    can u plz give te schematic diagram of ur project?
     
  15. kinjalgp

    kinjalgp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    INDIA/USA
    Its already attached with the first post !... Click on it and you'll be able to download it.
     
  16. jumides

    jumides New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes:
    0
    hi kinjalgp,
    I see schematic, but what happen to 4017, if BT139 goes wrong(short circuit) ?.
     
  17. kinjalgp

    kinjalgp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    INDIA/USA
    Well, it totally depends upon the type of failure of BT139. If there is leakage from gate .... it will blow up 4017 in worst case. However I haven't seen such kind of failure.
    To avoid triac failure, never connect load beyond its rated capacity.
     
  18. Nigel Goodwin

    Nigel Goodwin Super Moderator Most Helpful Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    39,203
    Likes:
    640
    Location:
    Derbyshire, UK
    And never use them to feed bulbs, because when the bulb fails it almost always takes out the triac at the same time.

    Bit difficult for a light sequencer though?.
     
  19. shokjok

    shokjok Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    452
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    The 4017 would quickly self-destruct. I built a similar circuit using MCT2 optos and T106 triacs to control Christmas lights ( up to 200 per triac, fused). A smaller version using 2N3904s alone turned on LEDs as a mini name-in-lights project, with 6 recipients.
     
  20. kinjalgp

    kinjalgp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes:
    3
    Location:
    INDIA/USA

    I doubt if that would happen ! When bulb fails, it becomes open circuit ! How will that affect the TRIAC ??
    I have been using this circuit for years now with quite a lot bulb failures, never had to replace a TRIAC or 4017 yet!
    Can you explain ?
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2008
  21. Gayan Soyza

    Gayan Soyza Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,821
    Likes:
    19
    Location:
    Colombo
    I’m away of this BT series TRIACs. For running lights its ok but when it comes to sensitive light dimming (Phase Controlling) this series acts poor.

    I’m using TIC216 or BTA16-600B because they don't seem to suffer from any dv/dt problems.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page